flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Mustdie must die!

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
BOTOKILLER



Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 154
Location: Ukraine
BOTOKILLER
Shit! Darn mustdie, ate 15GB of my C:\ and still is hungry!!!
The most shitty thing is that It never occupies the whole RAM and dumps always and doesnt clean f***ing dump after itself!!!
Evil or Very Mad
I cant even launch FASM! Crying or Very sad

_________________
_______________________________
NSOS
Post 15 Aug 2011, 17:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2140
Location: Estonia
Madis731
Experiensing Windows 7 are we? Smile I feel for you, I really do.
You can always try a fresh reinstall with SP1 already slipstreamed.
http://www.rt7lite.com/downloads.html - It took me about 2 hours to make this ISO but it works. Its a bit less memory-hungry.
Post 15 Aug 2011, 17:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
BOTOKILLER



Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 154
Location: Ukraine
BOTOKILLER
Madis731 wrote:
Experiensing Windows 7 are we? Smile

Worse, Vista! Evil or Very Mad

Madis731 wrote:
You can always try a fresh reinstall with SP1 already slipstreamed.
http://www.rt7lite.com/downloads.html - It took me about 2 hours to make this ISO but it works. Its a bit less memory-hungry.


The whole problem is that reinstalling Windows is to painfull!
I'll have to back up everything, I dont have flash memory card bigger than 4GB(I need 8GB to reinstal 7 or Vista, with <4GB only XP) Crying or Very sad

_________________
_______________________________
NSOS
Post 15 Aug 2011, 18:00
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
typedef



Joined: 25 Jul 2010
Posts: 2913
Location: 0x77760000
typedef
lol......if it's a desktop you can try to enslave it on another one.
Post 16 Aug 2011, 00:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 9002
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
vista, i disable those extra scheduled tasks, then i get usable performance, hmm, not bad actually.
Post 16 Aug 2011, 01:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2140
Location: Estonia
Madis731
1) disable system restore
2) make pagefile fixed size (if you prefer, make it equal to RAM)
3) clear TEMP/TMP/ Temporary Internet Files/ Service Pack backup files etc.
4) defrag, chkdsk

Maybe it will run 5-15% faster, but reinstall is the most sensible thing to do.
Maybe you could backup your files to CD/DVD? Maybe some FTP (depending on network bandwidth it can take long)?
Post 16 Aug 2011, 06:07
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
BOTOKILLER



Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 154
Location: Ukraine
BOTOKILLER
Madis731 wrote:
1) disable system restore
2) make pagefile fixed size (if you prefer, make it equal to RAM)
3) clear TEMP/TMP/ Temporary Internet Files/ Service Pack backup files etc.
4) defrag, chkdsk

Maybe it will run 5-15% faster, but reinstall is the most sensible thing to do.
Maybe you could backup your files to CD/DVD? Maybe some FTP (depending on network bandwidth it can take long)?

My log:
1. What if I'll need it(already needed once)
2. Done
3. Done
4. Done

I dont trust to FTP servers - today they work, tomorrow - who knows)))
Its too big for cd/DVD
Thanks for advices!

_________________
_______________________________
NSOS
Post 16 Aug 2011, 11:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Overflowz



Joined: 03 Sep 2010
Posts: 1046
Overflowz
use blue-ray disk.
Post 16 Aug 2011, 13:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3502
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
I use always 2 partitions on my HDDs - one for the OS and one for the work files. (I never use My Documents at all).
Then you always can format and install C: or restore it from some backup image (made as early after fresh install as possible) without affecting work files.
The installed software will be lost - but it is not a problem in the most cases - I always have too many useless programs installed, so it is some kind of sanitary action. Smile
Post 22 Aug 2011, 11:03
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
AsmGuru62



Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 1413
Location: Toronto, Canada
AsmGuru62
I have separate HDDs at all - OS is on C:\ and all data and code is on D:\.
Post 22 Aug 2011, 13:06
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
Enko



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 678
Location: Mar del Plata
Enko
JohnFound you can point the My Documents folder to anywhere you want. Like D:/Documents (winxp)

I Do as same as you
40-50 gb partition for C.
The rest for D, and also install an OS on D, winxp or win7 that I don't use.

if the main os on C fails, I have a backup on D with all my data.
Post 22 Aug 2011, 15:12
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.