flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > a newbie calls for help

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Galrauch



Joined: 17 Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Galrauch 17 Jun 2011, 14:48
Hi all, i've a problem.
My computer is running w7 64 bit and i tried to use fasm to assemly some files; but when i type "fasm file.txt file.com" (ok all right) and then "file.com", it says me that it needs a 64bit fasm's version.

I need to run my code, and when i compile it's ok, but i need to see the output and now i can't beacuse of an error(it needs 64bit fasm's version).

please help me

(i supposed that i need to use fasmw but it's the same..)
Post 17 Jun 2011, 14:48
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
typedef



Joined: 25 Jul 2010
Posts: 2909
Location: 0x77760000
typedef 18 Jun 2011, 02:01
That was an problem I never solved.

But, may I suggest to you DosBox| http://www.dosbox.com/

I think Win7 does not support 16 bit anymore (IDK, I never tried it but that is what I hear from many people)
Post 18 Jun 2011, 02:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
me239



Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 200
me239 18 Jun 2011, 04:58
Windows 7 64-bit(or any 64-bit Windows) no longer supports 16-bit backwards compatibility. I recommend what typedef said, download DOSBox. It may not support some DOS functions though. The best solution for this probably is to download an old version of MS-DOS (say 6.22 or 5), install it in VirtualBox, and then place your programs on a virtual floppy.
Post 18 Jun 2011, 04:58
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
idle



Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 440
Location: Ukraine
idle 18 Jun 2011, 13:39
Do not forget reading "DOSBox x.xx Manual.txt" first.
E.g. below is what i got from it:

%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Application Data\DOSBox\dosbox-0.74.conf:
Code:
...
[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.
mount f: f:\doc\edemko@rambler.ru\dos\
f:
    
Post 18 Jun 2011, 13:39
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
nvictor



Joined: 17 Feb 2007
Posts: 31
nvictor 22 Jun 2011, 23:30
hi,

i ran into the same issue.

what does that mean from assembly programming point of view? can't we program assembly under windows 7? can't we have access to interrupts?

if yes, then where should beginners start?

thanks
Post 22 Jun 2011, 23:30
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bitshifter



Joined: 04 Dec 2007
Posts: 796
Location: Massachusetts, USA
bitshifter 23 Jun 2011, 01:58
As far as i know XP was the last version to support interrupts.
No more BIOS or DOS interrupt emulation for anything newer.
So DOSBox on Vista or 7 is the logical choice.
But now those old DOS games will be slow.
A good reason to keep an old box with XP or lesser on it.
Post 23 Jun 2011, 01:58
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
me239



Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 200
me239 23 Jun 2011, 08:35
bitshifter wrote:
As far as i know XP was the last version to support interrupts.
No more BIOS or DOS interrupt emulation for anything newer.
So DOSBox on Vista or 7 is the logical choice.
But now those old DOS games will be slow.
A good reason to keep an old box with XP or lesser on it.
No, 32 bit versions of Vista and 7 have it. It's just the 64 bit versions. And also, DOSBox will run the same speed on any OS (depending on memory of course).
Post 23 Jun 2011, 08:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JoeCoder1



Joined: 13 Jun 2011
Posts: 62
JoeCoder1 23 Jun 2011, 08:38
I don't think XP supports DOS mode. If rugxulo is still here he can explain thoroughly.

From what I heard Win 98SE was the last Win built on DOS and you could still run true DOS apps and use BIOS calls. The problem will be getting chipset drivers for newish mobo etc.
Post 23 Jun 2011, 08:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
me239



Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 200
me239 23 Jun 2011, 09:06
OK, here it is
ABILITY TO RUN DOS APPS, EXECUTION/EMULATION VIA NTVDM.EXE, CORE:
#Windows 1 - YES, EXECUTION, DOS
#Windows 2 - YES, EXECUTION, DOS
#Windows 3 - YES, EXECUTION, DOS
#Windows 3.11 - YES, EXECUTION, DOS
#Windows 95 - YES, EXECUTION, DOS
#Windows NT 3.1 - YES, EMULATION, NT
#Windows NT 3.5 - YES, EMULATION, NT
#Windows NT 3.51 - YES, EMULATION, NT
#Windows NT 4.0 - YES, EMULATION, NT
#Windows 98 - YES, EXECUTION, DOS
#Windows ME - YES, EXECUTION, DOS
#Windows 2000 - YES, EMULATION, NT
#Windows XP 32 bit - YES, EMULATION, NT
#Windows XP 64 bit - NO, NT
#Windows Vista 32 bit - YES, EMULATION, NT
#Windows Vista 64 bit - NO, NT
#Windows 7 32 bit - YES, EMULATION, NT
#Windows 7 64 bit - NO, NT
I hope I answered your question/s...
Post 23 Jun 2011, 09:06
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.