flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > paradox ?

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
roboticmehdi

roboticmehdi
Hello everybody. I am student at university and i like programming although my major is mechanical engineering. So i got a question, I have been surfing around the internet and have noticed something that seemed very strange to me. Most of the assembly compilers around have been written in C. Well this this so weird, how a low level programming language can be written in higher level programming language. Im not talking about the IDE, im talking about the compiler itself, after all compilers are just executables right ? How is it possible ? Shocked
Post 21 Apr 2011, 10:25
mindcooler

mindcooler
Are you asking how it is possible that executables can be written in a high level programming language?
Post 21 Apr 2011, 10:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
roboticmehdi

roboticmehdi
No, im asking how is possible that a low level programming language compiler is created using a high level programming language compiler. For example most of assembly compilers are created using c compiler. How is it possible?
Post 21 Apr 2011, 11:06
JohnFound

JohnFound
The compiler reads some text file, process it and writes another file. These are operations every language can do - HLL, or not. So it is possible to write compiler in HLL.

Of course, it is a shame for programmers that prefers to use high level language to write assembler compiler.
They plead his ignorance with nice words, about portability, easy support etc. but the truth is, they are assembly language illiterates and thus simply can't write such complex project in assembly language. Very Happy

Regards
Post 21 Apr 2011, 11:20
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source