flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > windows 7 64bit issue

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
b1528932



Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 287
b1528932
when i put fasm in program files and compile with it, i cant delete created file right away, or overwrite it. It takes few minutes, before i even get write access to it.
If i put fasm on desktop, it works.

Im just gettin access denied message.
whats wrong? i have full access to fasm, how fasm is creating a file that it cause so much problems?
Post 07 Apr 2011, 17:23
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17280
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
AV?
Post 08 Apr 2011, 00:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
bitRAKE



Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 2915
Location: [RSP+8*5]
bitRAKE
Might be permissions on directory where FASM resides. Win7 protects installed programs. Quick test would be to execute FASM with administration rights and see if same thing happens. Solution would be to create directory for FASM - (e.g. N:\FASM) -- not in \Program Files.

Win7 doesn't like user data to be stored with installed software, or rather default policies enforce this behavior.
Post 08 Apr 2011, 02:46
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
b1528932



Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 287
b1528932
well its more complicated.
even if fasm is on desktop, after a few times i compile im getting write failed. totally random when it happens.

i have no any sort of av.
Post 08 Apr 2011, 17:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bitRAKE



Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 2915
Location: [RSP+8*5]
bitRAKE
Totally random, huh? That would be a solution and not a problem. Wink Need to reduce the solution space. Any random problems with other software? Any correlation with source being compiled. Can you put FASM on a USB stick or another physical drive? Maybe you have one of these drives. Very Happy
Post 09 Apr 2011, 02:28
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
Have you tried turning off UAC (User Account Control) Completly?
Post 09 Apr 2011, 21:36
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2141
Location: Estonia
Madis731
Maybe the problem isn't W7, but the program itself. Just maybe your program isn't finished running yet. Check task manager and Resource Monitor.
Post 16 Apr 2011, 16:10
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Overflowz



Joined: 03 Sep 2010
Posts: 1046
Overflowz
b1528932
Have you checked process list ? I had same problem but I saw my file was running in processes and when finished executing, then I had access to that. Try end process Wink (If you don't checked that ofc.. Smile)
Post 16 Apr 2011, 16:26
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.