flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > Strange Error no one else seems to be having

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
SoulofDeity



Joined: 08 Mar 2011
Posts: 4
SoulofDeity
I just recently started using fasm and every time I try to change the graphics mode I get this error

Code:
___________________________________________________________
|16 Bit MS-DOS Subsystem_______________________________[X]|
|                                                         |
| C:\Users\Admin\Desktop\Test.COM                         |
| This system does not support fullscreen mode. Choose    |
| 'Close' to terminate the application                    |
|                                                         |
|.........................................................|
|                            __________    ___________    |
|                           |  Close   |  |  Ignore   |   |
|_________________________________________________________|    


Could have taken a screenshot, but I was bored and didn't feel like going to imageshack >.> Anyway, if I click ignore it pops up again and after the second time the program stops responding. My code:

Code:
ORG 100h
    mov ah,00
    mov al,18
    int 10h
;wait for keypress
    mov ah,00
    int 16h
quit:
    mov ah,00
    mov al,03
    int 10h
    mov ah,04ch
    mov al,00
    int 21h    


I also tried putting user32 below the ORG command and it didn't fix anything. PC spec:
Code:
Model:  Dell Inspiron 9400
OS:     Window 7 32-bit    
[/code]
Post 08 Mar 2011, 07:58
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sinsi



Joined: 10 Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Location: Adelaide
sinsi
DOS emulation from vista onwards won't support fullscreen DOS video modes. It's apparently a driver issue rather than windows...
Post 08 Mar 2011, 08:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
Typical beginner mistake. Sad

Please download Windows version of FASM and test Windows examples only (hint: they usually begin with format PE and use32). Avoid org 100h or int 21h & Co.

Quote:
no one else seems to be having


How can you know just 3 hours after joining the forum ? Wrong, this had been already whined 1'000'000'000'000 times Wink

Quote:
I also tried putting user32 below the ORG command and it didn't fix anything


1. It's use32 not user32
2. It's nonsense anyway, you need full Win32 code, not just use32 patched into DOS code
3. Forget "drivers" and pick proper examples Wink
Post 08 Mar 2011, 08:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
SoulofDeity



Joined: 08 Mar 2011
Posts: 4
SoulofDeity
Thanks. I was wondering what the format PE command did. I tried several examples and each one always came up with the same error, that's why I titled the thread, "Strange error no one else seems to be having". Also, I meant to say use32 Razz
Post 09 Mar 2011, 20:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.