flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > 100% Newbie...

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Selevercin



Joined: 14 Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Selevercin
Hello everyone.

I'm having the worst time trying to use this compilier. My biggest problem is this, I can't seem to run it from the command line. I've tried just opening my asm file and clicking "Run" after compiling, but it only opens a dos window and quickly closes it. Is there a Sleep command? I've tried "pause" but that didn't seem to do it.

Thanks!
Post 14 Mar 2004, 18:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
Selevercin wrote:
Hello everyone.

I'm having the worst time trying to use this compilier. My biggest problem is this, I can't seem to run it from the command line. I've tried just opening my asm file and clicking "Run" after compiling, but it only opens a dos window and quickly closes it. Is there a Sleep command? I've tried "pause" but that didn't seem to do it.

Thanks!


Well, visibly you created DOS program or Windows console program (I can't guess what exactly without the source) and probably it runs and finishes instantly without any user interface. You can try to run your program in some debugger (I recomend you OllyDbg for Windows programs) so, you can trace what actually happen.

If you want to make compilation from command line, you should download some of FASM console versions - DOS, Win32 or Linux one.

Regards.
Post 14 Mar 2004, 19:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Selevercin



Joined: 14 Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Selevercin
Is there an easy was to get an interger? Right now my code is real simple:

db 97

Which is supposed to make a character... Assembly is a bit strange to me... I am much more comfortable with C++.

All I want to be able to do is do math quickly with a user inputed int and then print the answer to the screen. I picked assembly for the speed.

Thanks again!
Post 14 Mar 2004, 21:00
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
Selevercin wrote:
I am much more comfortable with C++.


Like a lot of people these days. Smile
You have to read (this very minute Wink ) the vid's tutorials here:

http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=1178&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

Don't worry, they are short, but will give you very strong acceleration in basics of the assembler and FASM. At the end you will ask for more. Smile

Regards.
Post 14 Mar 2004, 21:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Selevercin



Joined: 14 Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Selevercin
That tutorial looks real helpful! Sadly I still can't compile from the command line. When I try to run the following: C:\download\fasmw151\FASMW.EXE Test.asm empty.bin

I get an error saying: Could not load file empty.bin

I have also tried to run simply fasm test.asm empty.bin, but I get an error saying "Windows cannot find 'fasm'...". Any ideas?
Post 15 Mar 2004, 00:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
hitertan



Joined: 12 Mar 2004
Posts: 15
Location: China
hitertan
why don't you use fasmc151?
it is a console edition in windows.and it has a simple expression just like
fasm test.asm test.exe
fasmw151 is a gui edition and you can open it just move your mouse on it
and click it!

_________________
i like assembly language and i study it in my pleasure time
tanshunquan@hotmail.com
Post 15 Mar 2004, 01:06
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Selevercin



Joined: 14 Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Selevercin
Ah! Everything works fine now. I have the FASMW program and thought I had to use the command line. Thanks everyone!
Post 15 Mar 2004, 02:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2141
Location: Estonia
Madis731
My quick tip is: when making console apps, I'm too lazy to put kernels Sleep(some time) at the end of it. So what I do, is make a file like a.bat and write cmd inside it(or command in Win9x/Me) so when running test.com inside it, I can see the output AND the program won't exit:D
Post 15 Mar 2004, 18:27
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.