flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > found omnibook 6100

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
tonight i've found a hp omnibook 6100 in the street, but it is blocked by password, i tested to remove the cmos batery, it does nothing, bios password.

does anybody here know a backdoor password for this model?
it is a phoenix bios.
i've tested "phoenix", "PHOENIX", "BIOS" and "CMOS", it don't works.

it is disapointing to find a working pc, but full blocked by bios password... Sad
Post 19 Dec 2010, 04:15
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
bitRAKE



Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 2914
Location: [RSP+8*5]
bitRAKE
Search for "crisis recovery disk". Loads before password part of BIOS. If that doesn't work sometimes a service key is needed to connect pins of RS232 port - need the service manual to know for sure.
Post 19 Dec 2010, 05:16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tyler



Joined: 19 Nov 2009
Posts: 1216
Location: NC, USA
Tyler
Did you leave it out long enough? I found a few resources, one specific to the very laptop make and model you are talking about, and they all suggest taking the battery out.

http://www.dewassoc.com/support/bios/bios_password.htm
http://www.ehow.com/how_7330426_reset-bios-password-omnibook-6100.html
Post 19 Dec 2010, 06:17
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2141
Location: Estonia
Madis731
I wonder what's the use of the password on a laptop if it resets its password every time the battery runs out or you take it out. Maybe the user doesn't want his laptop to be used by other persons Smile Just maybe.
Post 25 Dec 2010, 11:58
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
ctl3d32



Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 204
Location: Brazil
ctl3d32
return it to it's real owner and ask for the password.
Post 25 Dec 2010, 12:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
impossible to find the original owner.
it was in the street, with garbages. this password is there to block everything. only pxe is accepted as boot device.
Post 25 Dec 2010, 15:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17278
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Shocked It must be a trap. Planted there by the CIA/MI5/SS/Alien overlords/MiB. Quickly get rid of it. Twisted Evil
Post 25 Dec 2010, 15:26
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8898
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
maybe take out its hd and see wat inside then try cöntact its real owner through those information?
Post 25 Dec 2010, 15:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bitRAKE



Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 2914
Location: [RSP+8*5]
bitRAKE
Special feature of Phoenix BIOS - crisis recovery mode. It loads boot sector of floppy disk and jumps to offset $80 instead of 0. Usually requires special key combo or RS232 jumping of pins. Used by service personnel or CIA/MI5/SS/Alien overlords/MiB. Razz
Post 25 Dec 2010, 16:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
the hard drive is still in use for another PC (i 've found a IDE 2.5 top 3.5 adapter (in another garbage), and now, it works very fine.

but, it is a pitty to have a full laptop, working, but blocked by just a password.

then, i will be forced to find a way to find this password.

as it can start on pxe, i think it can be good to try it on a closed lan.
Post 25 Dec 2010, 18:00
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8898
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
i google around this problem,
it seems, removing battery wouldn't remove the bios password...

and one of the way to remove it is through HP (based on what was written in their hp omnibook 6100 service manual pdf file.)

i don't know if they will charge for removing the password, below link is the form for password removal request.

http://bizsupport2.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c01880395/c01880395.pdf

i don't know if reflash the bios would unlock the password, but you can try.

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=US&swItem=ob966en&prodTypeId=321957&prodSeriesId=44424

good luck then...
Post 26 Dec 2010, 00:19
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
i will try to boot on pxe, just to see if it is possible to read the rom and find the password.. but it is like seeking a pin in a farm.( une aiguille dans une botte de foin), and after, i will give it to a friend. Very Happy

indeed, thank you for your help.

i will try to boot with 98 now, because in fact, the system was absent from the HDD, only the ntfs was here, and some files, but nothing in any local host documents folders.

then, now, maybe it can boot from win98 in safe mode, for example. and let me find how to remove the password... or reinstall the bios.
Post 26 Dec 2010, 19:12
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ctl3d32



Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 204
Location: Brazil
ctl3d32
Quote:

(i 've found a IDE 2.5 top 3.5 adapter (in another garbage)


I want a garbage like that too.
Post 28 Dec 2010, 14:16
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
rugxulo
Post 05 Jan 2011, 04:55
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
i will test to boot from the harddrie that contains a fresh win98 install, and there, i will maybe be able to do something, but this computer seems to be only used as a terminal that boots on PXE... not sure, but ...
Post 05 Jan 2011, 16:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.