flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > ? :

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
ouadji



Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 1081
Location: Belgium
ouadji 27 Nov 2010, 21:20
Code:

?:

mov eax,[?]   ;does compile

mov eax,?     ;does not compile


; why ? it's amazing
;
; thank you

    

_________________
I am not young enough to know everything (Oscar Wilde)- Image


Last edited by ouadji on 28 Nov 2010, 08:52; edited 2 times in total
Post 27 Nov 2010, 21:20
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 27 Nov 2010, 22:03
Hmm, should be "reserved word used as symbol", I think.
Nice catch. Wink
Post 27 Nov 2010, 22:03
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ouadji



Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 1081
Location: Belgium
ouadji 27 Nov 2010, 22:19

no ... "invalid operand"

i would understand that both compile,
i would understand that both don't compile ...
but one and not the other ...
it seems a bit strange and a bit illogical

nice catch ..

it's not a "catch" ... Wink
it's completely by chance, I must all try for wink

i think both should be allowed ... or not ...
but not "one ok and not the other"
what do you think about it Tomasz ?

_________________
I am not young enough to know everything (Oscar Wilde)- Image
Post 27 Nov 2010, 22:19
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 27 Nov 2010, 22:52
I meant that it should be "reserved word used as symbol" message for the "?:" line, just like with any other reserved word.
Post 27 Nov 2010, 22:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ouadji



Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 1081
Location: Belgium
ouadji 27 Nov 2010, 23:02

ok, I agree.
"?:" <--- This should not be allowed
(but with last fasm 1.69.27, this is allowed)

_________________
I am not young enough to know everything (Oscar Wilde)- Image
Post 27 Nov 2010, 23:02
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 27 Nov 2010, 23:08
I made a silent update with a fix.
Post 27 Nov 2010, 23:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ouadji



Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 1081
Location: Belgium
ouadji 27 Nov 2010, 23:26

all ok now.
thank you Tomasz.

_________________
I am not young enough to know everything (Oscar Wilde)- Image
Post 27 Nov 2010, 23:26
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
killasmurf86



Joined: 29 Sep 2010
Posts: 36
killasmurf86 28 Nov 2010, 09:54
Tomasz Grysztar wrote:
I made a silent update with a fix.


Please don't do that next time.
Need to update FreeBSD port now.... before someone noticed, that it's broken now
Post 28 Nov 2010, 09:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 28 Nov 2010, 10:25
I did implement the time marking system to make it possible to detect minor updates to packages - I often do ones that do not change the name of file, though usually it is the case for Windows package only (as it contains macro packages and IDE sources that often get updated before the new core release).
As for the change in the core causing the "silent update" - I only do that (very rarely) if I have some additional correction on the very same day when the last core version was uploaded. If you allow yourself a one day delay to make the package "settle down", then it may be safe to rely on Linux/Unix packages not changing, because they don't contain any IDE right now.
Post 28 Nov 2010, 10:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20355
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 28 Nov 2010, 10:32
Maybe a fourth digit?

1.69.27.02
Post 28 Nov 2010, 10:32
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 28 Nov 2010, 10:47
Date serves the same purpose. That's what I put it there for.
Post 28 Nov 2010, 10:47
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20355
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 28 Nov 2010, 10:49
But the date is only available on the website. We don't see the date in the program when it is running.

It's not like the numbers are limited, we won't run out of them, so we don't need to conserve them or anything. Wink
Post 28 Nov 2010, 10:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 28 Nov 2010, 11:17
revolution wrote:
But the date is only available on the website. We don't see the date in the program when it is running.
But do you really need it then? Any really important change in core wouldn't be applied without a new version number.

Note that most of these updates do not touch the core at all, so the version of core is not relevant there. Thus the date is a real marker for the version of the package (also fasmw has its own versioning, but its not shown on the page, as I think the date is enough).
Post 28 Nov 2010, 11:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20355
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 28 Nov 2010, 11:35
Well when someone reports a problem there can be a situation when the difference in version/time is important. And the date of one's download is not necessarily easy to ascertain. Time zone differences and zip extraction software can mask the date of the internal files. And even if I do know the date of the download I would still have to convert it back to your local time zone before I can match to the website date. Time is a trickier thing to deal with than a simpler, unambiguous, version number.
Post 28 Nov 2010, 11:35
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ouadji



Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 1081
Location: Belgium
ouadji 28 Nov 2010, 11:53

I'm agree.
"Silents updates" are not a good thing.
it is difficult to see them. This requires multiple downloads often unnecessary.
It's not a good way, really.

_________________
I am not young enough to know everything (Oscar Wilde)- Image
Post 28 Nov 2010, 11:53
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 28 Nov 2010, 11:56
revolution wrote:
Well when someone reports a problem there can be a situation when the difference in version/time is important.
If the reported problem can not be reproduced with my current "trunk" version then I simply ignore it.

revolution wrote:
Time is a trickier thing to deal with than a simpler, unambiguous, version number.
The GMT time of when I put the file on a server is an unambiguous "version" number (only formatted differently). If I put some automatically generated version number there on the page, it would make no difference.
As for the versions inside the package - well, right, there are some components that lack its own version number now, like macros or AsmEdit core. I may consider maintaining version numbers for them as well.
Post 28 Nov 2010, 11:56
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 28 Nov 2010, 12:02
ouadji: by "silent update" I mean the situation when I do some minor correction in the core without changing the version of the core - this term is from the very old times when this was more frequently happening than now, since fasm's development was in a much more active stage then. I agree this may be misleading, so I should refrain from doing that.

However there are many other components that get constantly improved - that's why you get lots of other kinds of updates that do not change the version of core, by which package is titled.
Post 28 Nov 2010, 12:02
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20355
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 28 Nov 2010, 12:06
Using time as a version number is ambiguous. My time zone changes frequently. Other people are in different time zones from GMT. FF bowser downloads are time stamped at the local time of download not the server file GMT time. If someone were to ask me if I have the latest fasm version then I would find that a very difficult question to answer without going through various measures to try to determine what version I actually currently have.
Post 28 Nov 2010, 12:06
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 28 Nov 2010, 12:15
revolution wrote:
Using time as a version number is ambiguous.
It is just a number that is generated at the time when the file is uploaded there. That this number is at the same time some readable date is just an additional nice feature. Wink I could take this time, and convert into some form looking like a version number, but this would not really change anything.

revolution wrote:
If someone were to ask me if I have the latest fasm version then I would find that a very difficult question to answer without going through various measures to try to determine what version I actually currently have.
"fasm version" is just a version of the core, so this is the number that you should give. The versions of fasmw IDE, AsmEdit core, macros - are all separate from that.
That's why the "silent update" (as in: silently updating the core) is actually a bad thing - nowadays I only decide to do it when it is something so minor that should not make any difference in real applications. I may as well stop doing that.
Post 28 Nov 2010, 12:15
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ouadji



Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 1081
Location: Belgium
ouadji 28 Nov 2010, 12:17

minor update or major update,
a update is a update.
about the "core", or not ... not matter !
Silents updates are not easy.
It's a problem for us, users.

thank you Tomasz

_________________
I am not young enough to know everything (Oscar Wilde)- Image
Post 28 Nov 2010, 12:17
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.