flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > pe resource data

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
b1528932



Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 287
b1528932
i would like to add resources to my file. I know basics about rsrc, but for example RT_VERSION is using complicated custom format, and i cant really make sense out of it. Could someone explain me the structure of sample bitmap/icon/version/cursor resource?
Post 08 Nov 2010, 17:36
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17272
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
See the fasmw sources.
Post 08 Nov 2010, 23:07
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
b1528932



Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 287
b1528932
are u fucking kidding me?

it use macroes. can you read? i know how to use macroes, i want to know the format.
Post 08 Nov 2010, 23:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17272
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
You can use "prepsrc.asm" (in the tools folder) to examine the assembled data structures.
Post 08 Nov 2010, 23:22
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
Post 09 Nov 2010, 09:38
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
rugxulo
Okay, at the risk of stating the obvious ... that could've been handled better. (I hope revolution didn't get offended, surely he only meant to help, *sigh*)
Post 12 Nov 2010, 15:32
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
baldr



Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 1651
baldr
b1528932,

MSDN is known to be quite informative about Windows-related stuff.
Post 12 Nov 2010, 16:16
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
b1528932



Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 287
b1528932
thx i do have other trouble.
in export section there is field wich point to rva of module name.
where this module is used? can i just set it to 0?
Post 12 Nov 2010, 21:48
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
baldr



Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 1651
baldr
b1528932,

IMAGE_EXPORT_DIRECTORY.Name field seems to be unused by NT loader (at least I didn't find reference to it in WRK). NULL works fine, empty/incorrect zstring does as well (XP SP2).

I didn't test that under Win9x though.
Post 13 Nov 2010, 10:27
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.