flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > compiler options

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
alexa



Joined: 21 Apr 2006
Posts: 8
alexa
I work with Windows2000 Pc:Pentium4 dual-threading,2*256Mb memory,4095Mb virtual memory.fasmw1.68
According windows documentation I can write programm with length
"length cod"+"length data"<=4Gb
Compiler in IDE or compiler thru Command Prompt send message "Out of memory"
Please write trial programm under windows that use data with length 3Gb and
compiler compile this programm and we can execute it.
Post 04 Jul 2010, 22:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
In 32-bit Windows you can only use 2GB per process in normal boot mode. And 3GB per process when booting in 3GB mode and your app has the LARGE_ADDRESS_AWARE flag set.

In 64-bit Windows a 32-bit process can use 4GB.
Post 05 Jul 2010, 00:12
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Quote:

In 64-bit Windows a 32-bit process can use 4GB.
But the LARGE_ADDRESS_AWARE flag still needs to be set, right? I think that there was some discussion about this earlier but AFAIK, the PE formatter still has no way to set it.
Post 05 Jul 2010, 00:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
LocoDelAssembly wrote:
Quote:

In 64-bit Windows a 32-bit process can use 4GB.
But the LARGE_ADDRESS_AWARE flag still needs to be set, right?
Yeah, I expect so.
LocoDelAssembly wrote:
I think that there was some discussion about this earlier but AFAIK, the PE formatter still has no way to set it.
Perhaps:
Code:
format PE GUI 4.0 LARGE    
fasm can't do it now of course, but it would be quite simple to add.

However for the OPs problem of out of memory, I doubt that can be solved so simply. fasm needs a contiguous block of memory to work with and Windows in 3GB mode still uses 0x7fff0000 in the process address space so it is not possible to get a 3GB contiguous block.
Post 05 Jul 2010, 02:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.