flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > about interrupts

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
b1528932



Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 287
b1528932
when hardware send interrupt to cpu, while cpu has if = 0, what is happening to this interrupt? does the hardware gets 'error, send again' and must send it again untill its recived, or cpu is saving this information osmewere?
Post 25 Jun 2010, 20:36
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17247
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
The (A)PIC will hold all interrupts to the CPU until they are acknowledged. So as soon as IF is enabled the CPU will branch to the pending interrupt routine.
Post 25 Jun 2010, 23:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
> The (A)PIC will hold all interrupts to the CPU until

Same for PIC and APIC ?
Post 27 Jun 2010, 10:49
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17247
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
DOS386 wrote:
> The (A)PIC will hold all interrupts to the CPU until

Same for PIC and APIC ?
AFAIK Yes. I never lost an interrupt in any of my old code using the PIC.
Post 27 Jun 2010, 10:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.