flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > Extra Characters on Line

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
donn



Joined: 05 Mar 2010
Posts: 321
donn 24 Jun 2010, 04:21
Hi, tried defining some characters, might have stored too many, if that's possible.

I get an error: Error: Extra characters on line, for the following:

B21 db 'Long Message.',10,0

The message is about 265 characters, I don't know if OpenOffice (used to calculate that) includes whitespace or punctuation.

I have some other messages I'm defining, some are kinda long, I don't know if the errors check sequentially because it didn't say that for some previous long ones.

Cheers, have a good night, wondering if anyone knows what that means?
Denat
Post 24 Jun 2010, 04:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4624
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly 24 Jun 2010, 04:36
I've tried replacing 'Long Message.' with a 10,000+ chars strings and no problem at all. I'm using FASM 1.69.14.

Does the faulting line isolated in a separate source and compiled separately produce the same problem?

PS: Have you verified that the message itself does NOT contain the single quote (or double quote in case you used it to open the string) somewhere? This will give the same error message you mention:
Code:
B21 db 'Loco's test',10,0    
The correct form is this:
Code:
B21 db 'Loco''s test',10,0
; Or:
B21 db "Loco's test",10,0    
Post 24 Jun 2010, 04:36
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20300
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 24 Jun 2010, 04:45
"Extra characters on line" can also mean that fasm encountered a space, or tab, and then found something following:
Code:
label1 db 'test',13 10,0 ;error, the space ends the db statement    
Post 24 Jun 2010, 04:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
nathanpc



Joined: 23 Aug 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Brazil
nathanpc 25 Jun 2010, 01:21
denat, remember to use the code tags, to let the forums organized. Smile
Post 25 Jun 2010, 01:21
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
donn



Joined: 05 Mar 2010
Posts: 321
donn 25 Jun 2010, 13:55
Yeah, it was the single quotes within the quotes that fixed the error. Yeah, when I write code into the post, ill put it in the format.

Awesome guys,
Denat
Post 25 Jun 2010, 13:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.