flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Precessor Specs

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Tyler



Joined: 19 Nov 2009
Posts: 1216
Location: NC, USA
Tyler
Seeing how assembly is so specific for every processor, I think it's pretty important to know the intimate details about a processor. What are the specs of your processor?
Mine:(from /proc/cpuinfo)
Code:
vendor_id     : AuthenticAMD
cpu family        : 17
model               : 3
model name   : AMD Sempron(tm) SI-42
stepping : 1
cpu MHz              : 2100.000
cache size    : 512 KB
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception      : yes
cpuid level        : 1
wp           : yes
flags              : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc up rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch osvw skinit
bogomips  : 4200.01
TLB size       : 1024 4K pages
clflush size     : 64
cache_alignment     : 64
address sizes       : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate
    
Post 25 Apr 2010, 19:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
cthug



Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Location: /home/Australia
cthug
Code:
processor    : 0
vendor_id    : GenuineIntel
cpu family        : 15
model               : 6
model name   : Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.40GHz
stepping     : 5
cpu MHz              : 3391.603
cache size    : 2048 KB
cpu cores      : 2
fpu          : yes
fpu_exception      : yes
cpuid level        : 6
wp           : yes
flags              : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc pebs bts pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est cid cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm
bogomips  : 6783.20
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment     : 128
address sizes      : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor       : 1
vendor_id    : GenuineIntel
cpu family        : 15
model               : 6
model name   : Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.40GHz
stepping     : 5
cpu MHz              : 3391.603
cache size    : 2048 KB
cpu cores      : 2
fpu          : yes
fpu_exception      : yes
cpuid level        : 6
wp           : yes
flags              : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc pebs bts pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est cid cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm
bogomips  : 6783.32
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment     : 128
address sizes      : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

    
Post 26 Apr 2010, 00:28
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
cthug



Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Location: /home/Australia
cthug
wait I think the cpu family is wrong isn't 15 Itanium Shocked

[edit]
Should be 16, Intel Petium D "Presler"
[/edit]
Post 26 Apr 2010, 00:33
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tyler



Joined: 19 Nov 2009
Posts: 1216
Location: NC, USA
Tyler
You got a Pentium that's better than my processor in a computer I bought this year(for 300 USD). I'm starting to think I may have got ripped off.Smile
Post 26 Apr 2010, 01:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak
Quote:
kohlrak@kohlrak-server:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 2
model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.53GHz
stepping : 7
cpu MHz : 2524.887
cache size : 512 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 2
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe up pebs bts cid
bogomips : 5049.77
clflush size : 64
power management:

kohlrak@kohlrak-server:~$ logout
Connection to kohlrak.sytes.net closed.
kohlrak@kohlrak-laptop:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 104
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55
stepping : 1
cpu MHz : 800.000
cache size : 256 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow rep_good extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch
bogomips : 1599.88
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps

processor : 1
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 104
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55
stepping : 1
cpu MHz : 800.000
cache size : 256 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 1
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 1
initial apicid : 1
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow rep_good extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch
bogomips : 1599.88
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps


Using your method... There's also a cpuid program to install (not overly useful information, though [just an extra number or two about cache]) for a little ore info.
Post 26 Apr 2010, 06:50
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
cthug



Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Location: /home/Australia
cthug
@Tyler

I bought this computer, this year for $395 AUD, ex-gov though, but had a brand new 500GB hard drive, 2GB ram and 19 inch LCD Smile.
Post 26 Apr 2010, 07:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
Location: Michigan, USA
windwakr
From cpu-z:
Quote:

Processor 1 ID = 0
Number of cores 2 (max 2)
Number of threads 2 (max 2)
Name Intel Pentium D 945
Codename Presler
Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.40GHz
Package (platform ID) Socket 775 LGA (0x2)
CPUID F.6.5
Extended CPUID F.6
Core Stepping D0
Technology 65 nm
Core Speed 2394.0 MHz
Multiplier x FSB 12.0 x 199.5 MHz
Rated Bus speed 798.0 MHz
Stock frequency 3400 MHz
Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, EM64T
L1 Data cache 2 x 16 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
Trace cache 2 x 12 Kuops, 8-way set associative
L2 cache 2 x 2048 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
FID/VID Control yes
FID range 14.0x - 17.0x
VID range 1.116 V - 1.292 V
Post 26 Apr 2010, 15:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
zir_blazer



Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 66
zir_blazer
CPU-Z

Quote:
Processor 1 ID = 0
Number of cores 4 (max 4)
Number of threads 4 (max 4)
Name AMD Athlon II X4 620
Codename Propus
Specification AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor
Package Socket AM3 (938)
CPUID F.5.2
Extended CPUID 10.5
Brand ID 8
Core Stepping BL-C2
Technology 45 nm
Core Speed 1000.0 MHz
Multiplier x FSB 5.0 x 200.0 MHz
HT Link speed 1200.0 MHz
Stock frequency 2600 MHz
Instructions sets MMX (+), 3DNow! (+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V
L1 Data cache 4 x 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L1 Instruction cache 4 x 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L2 cache 4 x 512 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64-byte line size
FID/VID Control yes
FID range 4.0x - 13.0x
Max VID 1.325 V
P-State FID 0x104 - VID 0x12 - IDD 19 (5.0x - 1.325 V)
P-State FID 0x3 - VID 0x1A - IDD 15 (9.5x - 1.225 V)
P-State FID 0x10C - VID 0x22 - IDD 13 (7.0x - 1.125 V)
P-State FID 0x100 - VID 0x28 - IDD 10 (4.0x - 1.050 V)


Looks like though everyone here may be great Assembler programmers, most lacks being a Hardware enthusiast. The Pentium D line was a piece of junk with stupidly high power consumption and losed in pretty much anything against an Athlon 64 X2 of the same era, same with Pentium 4 Prescotts against the release of Athlons 64. Only from Core 2 Duo release onwards, it is the other way around, but on the least AMD products were always competently priced for the performance. Not even once could something similar be said about Intel.

For an Assembler programmer, knowing what Processor architecture you are programming for is useful if you're going to take advantage of whatever features it offers, like if there are similar instructions where you can use one with less latency (Like people that uses XOR when optimizing, but that seems to be a general rule for all x86 based optimization), or if the Processor got several execution units, coding with Instruction Level Parallelism in mind appropiate for that Processor (AMD K7 and K8 had 3 ALU and 3 FPU if I recall correctly).
Post 07 May 2010, 13:50
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Borsuc



Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 2466
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Borsuc
Code:
Processor 1                      ID = 0
      Number of cores         4 (max 4)
   Number of threads       4 (max 4)
   Name                    Intel Core 2 Quad
   Codename                Yorkfield
   Specification           Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU    Q9550  @ 2.83GHz
     Package                 
    CPUID                   6.7.A
       Extended CPUID          6.17
        Core Stepping           E0
  Technology              45 nm
       Core Speed              2838.6 MHz
  Instructions sets       MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, EM64T, VT-x
    L1 Data cache           4 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
     L1 Instruction cache    4 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
     L2 cache                2 x 6144 KBytes, 24-way set associative, 64-byte line size
  FID/VID Control         yes    

_________________
Previously known as The_Grey_Beast
Post 07 May 2010, 15:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tyler



Joined: 19 Nov 2009
Posts: 1216
Location: NC, USA
Tyler
zir_blazer: I agree, Intel's way over priced.

Borsuc: I was going to get a Core 2 Quad, until I tried to find one for a laptop, and found they are nonexistent in anyway other than in a stock computer.
Post 07 May 2010, 21:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Borsuc



Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 2466
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Borsuc
There are some available, but those laptops cost a lot of $$$$. Sad

_________________
Previously known as The_Grey_Beast
Post 09 May 2010, 13:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41
Here is mine:
Code:
Vendor ID: "GenuineIntel"; CPUID level 10

Intel-specific functions:
Version 000106c2:
Type 0 - Original OEM
Family 6 - Pentium Pro
Model 12 - 
Stepping 2
Reserved 4

Extended brand string: "         Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N280   @ 1.66GHz"
CLFLUSH instruction cache line size: 8
Initial APIC ID: 1
Hyper threading siblings: 2

Feature flags bfe9fbff:
FPU    Floating Point Unit
VME    Virtual 8086 Mode Enhancements
DE     Debugging Extensions
PSE    Page Size Extensions
TSC    Time Stamp Counter
MSR    Model Specific Registers
PAE    Physical Address Extension
MCE    Machine Check Exception
CX8    COMPXCHG8B Instruction
APIC   On-chip Advanced Programmable Interrupt Controller present and enabled
SEP    Fast System Call
MTRR   Memory Type Range Registers
PGE    PTE Global Flag
MCA    Machine Check Architecture
CMOV   Conditional Move and Compare Instructions
FGPAT  Page Attribute Table
CLFSH  CFLUSH instruction
DS     Debug store
ACPI   Thermal Monitor and Clock Ctrl
MMX    MMX instruction set
FXSR   Fast FP/MMX Streaming SIMD Extensions save/restore
SSE    Streaming SIMD Extensions instruction set
SSE2   SSE2 extensions
SS     Self Snoop
HT     Hyper Threading
TM     Thermal monitor
31     reserved

TLB and cache info:
59: unknown TLB/cache descriptor
ba: unknown TLB/cache descriptor
4f: unknown TLB/cache descriptor
c0: unknown TLB/cache descriptor
80: unknown TLB/cache descriptor
30: unknown TLB/cache descriptor
0e: unknown TLB/cache descriptor
Processor serial: 0001-06C2-0000-0000-0000-0000
    

_________________
Want hosting for free for your asm project? You can PM me. (*.fasm4u.net)
Post 09 May 2010, 15:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tyler



Joined: 19 Nov 2009
Posts: 1216
Location: NC, USA
Tyler
What needs to be considered when upgrading processors, like how do you know the new one will be compatible with your motherboard and other stuff?
Post 09 May 2010, 16:10
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41
Google your mother board manufacturer and model and look for its data sheet saying what processor/Ram it can support?
Post 09 May 2010, 16:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
zir_blazer



Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 66
zir_blazer
Tyler wrote:
What needs to be considered when upgrading processors, like how do you know the new one will be compatible with your motherboard and other stuff?

What matters is that you're doing a good enough jump to have a tangible difference. A new architecture or a process shrink (More Frequency headroom, less power consumption) usually one generation worth is also good to see an improvement of some sorts. Basically, buy features in silicon, if you're planning on upgrading a current Processor to a similar model with just more MHzs, is totally worthless, and besides, could easily be archivable via overclocking. This indeed can be very different from platform to platform depending on what is available on it.
Post 09 May 2010, 17:21
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Tyler



Joined: 19 Nov 2009
Posts: 1216
Location: NC, USA
Tyler
I'm upgrading for more cores, I want a 3/4 core, 2+GHz. How could I not see a huge improvement when going from 1 2GHZ core to 3 or 4 cores?

When they say the speed for a multicore processor, they're talking about a single core, right? Like saying a 2GHz quad is really 8GHz?
Post 09 May 2010, 19:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
Location: Michigan, USA
windwakr
Tyler wrote:
Like saying a 2GHz quad is really 8GHz?



It doesn't work that way.

_________________
----> * <---- My star, won HERE
Post 09 May 2010, 19:40
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tyler



Joined: 19 Nov 2009
Posts: 1216
Location: NC, USA
Tyler
windwakr wrote:

Tyler wrote:
Like saying a 2GHz quad is really 8GHz?



It doesn't work that way.

Not exactly, but I would see a difference going from 1 core to 2 wouldn't I? I realize the difference won't be exponential, but it would be noticeably faster right?

Turns out I can only get a 2 core, AMD Turion X2 Ultra, 2.2GHz, 2MB L2.

I might get it, but how hard is it to install, is it just jerk out the old one and plug the new one in, or what?(I'm not asking for detail, just can a monkey do it, or not)
Post 09 May 2010, 20:09
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Ivan2k2



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 80
Location: Russia, Angarsk
Ivan2k2
my desktop
Code:
       Number of cores         4 (max 8)
   Number of threads       4 (max 16)
  Name                    Intel Core i5 750
   Codename                Lynnfield
   Specification           Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU         750  @ 2.67GHz
     Package (platform ID)   Socket 1156 LGA (0x1)
       CPUID                   6.E.5
       Extended CPUID          6.1E
        Core Stepping           B1
  Technology              45 nm
       Core Speed              1251.0 MHz
  Multiplier x FSB        9.0 x 139.0 MHz
     Rated Bus speed         2502.1 MHz
  Stock frequency         2666 MHz
    Instructions sets       MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, EM64T, VT-x
    L1 Data cache           4 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
     L1 Instruction cache    4 x 32 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64-byte line size
     L2 cache                4 x 256 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L3 cache                8 MBytes, 16-way set associative, 64-byte line size
 FID/VID Control         yes


    


... and laptop
Code:
    Number of cores         2 (max 2)
   Number of threads       2 (max 2)
   Name                    Intel Celeron SU2300
        Codename                Penryn
      Specification           Genuine Intel(R) CPU           U2300  @ 1.20GHz
     Package (platform ID)   Socket P (478) (0x7)
        CPUID                   6.7.A
       Extended CPUID          6.17
        Core Stepping           R0
  Technology              45 nm
       Core Speed              1197.0 MHz
  Multiplier x FSB        6.0 x 199.5 MHz
     Rated Bus speed         798.0 MHz
   Stock frequency         1200 MHz
    Instructions sets       MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, EM64T, VT-x
    L1 Data cache           2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
     L1 Instruction cache    2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
     L2 cache                1024 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64-byte line size
       FID/VID Control         yes
 FID range               6.0x - 6.0x
 Max VID                 1.013 V
    
Post 10 May 2010, 02:58
View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tyler



Joined: 19 Nov 2009
Posts: 1216
Location: NC, USA
Tyler
i5 Shocked I bet it lags all the time. Wink
Post 10 May 2010, 03:30
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page 1, 2  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.