flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Why MenuetOS is not the OS for most of your tasks?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Why MenuetOS is not the OS for most of your tasks?
Drivers
46%
 46%  [ 6 ]
I love Microsoft
15%
 15%  [ 2 ]
I love Linux
38%
 38%  [ 5 ]
I love BSD
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 13

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
ass0



Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 521
Location: ( . Y . )
ass0
Drivers. If there only were a generic support to use the existent drivers of windows on MenuetOS, would be so freaking awesome.

BTW, i use windows xp x64 because is the "lightest" x64 OS available with support for my hardware.

_________________
Image
Nombre: Aquiles Castro.
Location2: about:robots
Post 24 Apr 2010, 00:49
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41
I don't use it because the 32bit version seems to have been discontinued, and I do not have a 64bit PC.
Post 24 Apr 2010, 01:38
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak
Because Menuet is proprietary, not necessarily stable, doesn't have drivers, and does not have the programs i need nor do i have the time to make everything i need.
Post 24 Apr 2010, 02:34
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
cthug



Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Location: /home/Australia
cthug
yeah if it wasn't proprietary, I think it would have alot more interest Sad
Post 24 Apr 2010, 03:33
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tyler



Joined: 19 Nov 2009
Posts: 1216
Location: NC, USA
Tyler
ass0 wrote:

BTW, i use windows xp x64 because is the "lightest" x64 OS available with support for my hardware.

Have you ever tried Linux? Unless your computer is hand built, I bet they have drivers for it.

[edit]
As to your question, I don't like how it's closed source. If I'm going to use something closed source, it has to be better than the open alternative...
[/edit]
Post 24 Apr 2010, 03:33
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ass0



Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 521
Location: ( . Y . )
ass0
Yeah I've tried Linux and there are not "working" x64 drivers for my dial-up modem and my all-in-one printer.

_________________
Image
Nombre: Aquiles Castro.
Location2: about:robots
Post 24 Apr 2010, 03:39
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
cthug



Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Location: /home/Australia
cthug
it should be available for linux, the linux community have an a problem using blobs, chunks of proprietary code in the linux kernel and drivers(they prefer to have a complete system than a completely Free system Sad). Im sure you could sumbit a request for a driver somewhere ... or you could write your own Very Happy
Post 24 Apr 2010, 04:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ass0



Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 521
Location: ( . Y . )
ass0
I could not only write drivers for my hardware, i could write an entire OS and then my own assembler, my own browser...

_________________
Image
Nombre: Aquiles Castro.
Location2: about:robots
Post 24 Apr 2010, 04:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak
ass0 wrote:
I could not only write drivers for my hardware, i could write an entire OS and then my own assembler, my own browser...


Go ahead, make driver x. See how quickly you get nailed for patent infringement, copyright infringement, or something along those lines. This is why linux doesn't have working drivers for many pieces of hardware.
Post 24 Apr 2010, 04:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
ass0



Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 521
Location: ( . Y . )
ass0
My only hope is:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/ndiswrapper/

Or someone with a lot of free time could write a driver for me xD.
Btw this is my modem: USR5633A.

_________________
Image
Nombre: Aquiles Castro.
Location2: about:robots
Post 24 Apr 2010, 05:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
nop



Joined: 01 Sep 2008
Posts: 165
Location: right here left there
nop
@ass0
us robotics invented the winmodem and make it very difficult to write non m$ drivers
your usb usr modem is almost certainly a winmodem not a real modem at all Rolling Eyes
Post 24 Apr 2010, 07:00
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
I've seen some project that use the sound card to transmit data but none was suitable for V.90 transmission. Do anyone know of someone who was able to make this? Is there some technical problem that makes this impossible?
Post 24 Apr 2010, 14:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak
LocoDelAssembly wrote:
I've seen some project that use the sound card to transmit data but none was suitable for V.90 transmission. Do anyone know of someone who was able to make this? Is there some technical problem that makes this impossible?


(If i understand what you're wanting) The only problem i foresee with this (and you shouldn't need to make a whole driver to do this, if you have a way of throwing out sound and recording sound) is that it's analogue. Analogue is very, very bad for data storage and transfer. If you don't mind minor things being lost, it's A-OK.
Post 24 Apr 2010, 17:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
I mean something like this: http://www.araneus.fi/audsl/ . However this is incompatible with V.90 or any other V.* ITU standards.
Post 24 Apr 2010, 18:19
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ass0



Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 521
Location: ( . Y . )
ass0
pretty impresive Shocked Shocked

_________________
Image
Nombre: Aquiles Castro.
Location2: about:robots
Post 24 Apr 2010, 18:26
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ass0



Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 521
Location: ( . Y . )
ass0
Since winmodems (softmodems) rely on an audio codec as the project audsl, then it should be possible convert a softmodem to a DSLmodem?? Shocked Shocked Shocked
If not why?

_________________
Image
Nombre: Aquiles Castro.
Location2: about:robots
Post 24 Apr 2010, 23:16
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4237
Location: 2018
edfed
because it is very slow.

but it is a very good idea for educationnal and fundamental coding research. Smile
Post 24 Apr 2010, 23:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ass0



Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 521
Location: ( . Y . )
ass0
what is slow? the hardware? I don't think so, the hardware of a softmodem is just an audio card with input/output for phone line.

I think what makes it to work max 56kbps is just the codec v.92, but i'm not sure...

_________________
Image
Nombre: Aquiles Castro.
Location2: about:robots
Post 24 Apr 2010, 23:34
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
22.05 KHz is way below the DSL bandwidth and also, DSL does not work in the audible band like the sound cards do. V.90 standard works in the voice band (4 KHz), so by this fact alone using a sound card should be possible, but probably there is some problem that still makes this impossible (or no one cares a shit the great processing power we have today because dial-up services are not interesting enough today and/or modems are too cheap).
Post 24 Apr 2010, 23:36
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ass0



Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 521
Location: ( . Y . )
ass0
Heh those ISP bastards xD, anyway i'm wondering how much bytes one could save in a old fashion Compact Cassette xD using the codec AUDSL, they claim it can transport 90kbps. =D
Image

_________________
Image
Nombre: Aquiles Castro.
Location2: about:robots
Post 24 Apr 2010, 23:47
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page 1, 2  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.