flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Linux > Again me

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Nedzad



Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Nedzad 19 Apr 2010, 10:15
Hi there, ive promised long time ago linux ide for fasm. I want to apologize i didnt do that until now, ive been bussy with my work so i barely had free time. Now situation have changed so ill try to finish my project this week.
Here is one screenshot of my project, its not something but i hope it will get much better.
Still need to fix syntaxhighlight colors, and need to parse fasm output so i can mark the line where the error is!

Im doing this in lazarus, source and bin will be online soon. OS is ubuntu 10.04 beta 2

Thnx and once again im sorry.
ps
sorry for bad english too Smile


Description:
Filesize: 477.86 KB
Viewed: 12079 Time(s)

Screenshot.png



_________________
No Signature !
Post 19 Apr 2010, 10:15
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
ManOfSteel



Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 1154
ManOfSteel 19 Apr 2010, 12:04
Welcome back, Nedzad.

The editor looks good. I'm not familiar with Lazarus, so this question might seem stupid, but what widget toolkit is it (the editor) based on?
Also, is it portable to other *nix systems or does it contain many linuxisms?
Post 19 Apr 2010, 12:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Nedzad



Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Nedzad 19 Apr 2010, 12:33
Here is first not so stable and not so functional binary !

There is 2 files in archive:
config.ini // contains path to fasm executable and not yet implemented syntax file
Fasl // executable for IDE

Executable is compressed with UPX cause Lazarus generate large files, this IDE is 25Mb without compression. After compression its only 5Mb

At the moment you cant try to compile some simple files, only compile and run button works for now.

PLEASE goto Edit -> Preference first and set path to fasm executable, after that restart FasmL

Please test and see if it runs on your machine !

@ManOfSteel it can run on GTK or QT on linux


Thanks in advance

_________________
No Signature !
Post 19 Apr 2010, 12:33
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Nedzad



Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Nedzad 19 Apr 2010, 12:34
Post 19 Apr 2010, 12:34
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20447
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 19 Apr 2010, 13:14
Nedzad wrote:
Executable is compressed with UPX cause Lazarus generate large files, this IDE is 25Mb without compression. After compression its only 5Mb
Exclamation 25MB for a simple GUI? The bloat seems worse than MS. Wink
Post 19 Apr 2010, 13:14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Nedzad



Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Nedzad 19 Apr 2010, 13:22
hehe it is Smile but unfortunately i think its the simplest way to build GUI app on linux, as long as i'm aware of Smile
Post 19 Apr 2010, 13:22
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20447
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 19 Apr 2010, 13:44
Nedzad wrote:
hehe it is Smile but unfortunately i think its the simplest way to build GUI app on linux, as long as i'm aware of Smile
The TEMPLATE.ASM example in the fasm Windows download is 1.46kB source code (71 lines) and 2kB executable code.

Is there really not a more efficient way in Linux? 25MB seems rather excessive to me. I'm not trying to criticise your efforts, I am just somewhat taken aback by the huge file size requirement for a basic GUI.
Post 19 Apr 2010, 13:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Nedzad



Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Nedzad 19 Apr 2010, 14:45
Im sure there is more efficient way but this is the most easiest way ive found Smile and im sure with some practise it can be much more optimized, remove debug information from file and such ....
Post 19 Apr 2010, 14:45
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
ManOfSteel



Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 1154
ManOfSteel 19 Apr 2010, 15:56
Of course there is, revolution. My small GTK+ applications in C are all less than 10KB. In assembly they would even be a little bit smaller. Here are some examples of graphical applications using GTK+: galculator (scientific calculator, 109KB), thunar (file explorer, 490KB), leafpad (text editor, 80KB), xarchiver (archive manager, 237KB), etc.


Nedzad, you probably included debug information as you said. And the fact you say it can use both GTK+ and Qt may mean both toolkits' libraries are statically linked, and these can be quite big especially Qt.
Post 19 Apr 2010, 15:56
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Nedzad



Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Nedzad 19 Apr 2010, 16:46
i dont know, but guys i hate you all now, ill try to make all this in C Smile
hope till morning ill have working version Smile
Post 19 Apr 2010, 16:46
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak 19 Apr 2010, 17:20
Nedzad wrote:
i dont know, but guys i hate you all now, ill try to make all this in C Smile
hope till morning ill have working version Smile


You could always try to make it entirely with 1 toolkit, for starters, and you could also dynamically link the files instead. If you're worried about saving space, dynamically linking always helps. If you need an example, i could post one for you.
Post 19 Apr 2010, 17:20
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Nedzad



Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Nedzad 19 Apr 2010, 19:40
i got one question for you kohlrak i use glade to build GUI. ive generated XML file from glade and used gtk_builder_add_from_file. My question is, is there anyway to merge XML and binary so that it will be one single file, put it in resource section if such exist in elf ? (btw. i use C)
Post 19 Apr 2010, 19:40
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Nedzad



Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Nedzad 19 Apr 2010, 21:30
damn i never thought that glade and c is so simple Smile
Post 19 Apr 2010, 21:30
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
rugxulo 19 Apr 2010, 21:54
Dynamic linking is a mess on Linux. I'll admit that static is bigger, but at least it will run anywhere without worries. I can't remember if UPX uses LZMA by default for Linux, so make sure to try "--best --lzma --all-filters".

P.S. Turn off debugging AND turn on smartlinking. (-XX or -XXs, I think.) Maybe you already did this, but I doubt it. It makes a big difference.
Post 19 Apr 2010, 21:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
kohlrak 19 Apr 2010, 22:07
rugxulo wrote:
Dynamic linking is a mess on Linux. I'll admit that static is bigger, but at least it will run anywhere without worries.


Only a small mess. It could EASILY (and reliably) be tucked away in macros, and i have done such.

Quote:
I can't remember if UPX uses LZMA by default for Linux, so make sure to try "--best --lzma --all-filters".

P.S. Turn off debugging AND turn on smartlinking. (-XX or -XXs, I think.) Maybe you already did this, but I doubt it. It makes a big difference.


What the hell are you on about? I've never had to do any of this with dynamic linking.

Quote:
i got one question for you kohlrak i use glade to build GUI. ive generated XML file from glade and used gtk_builder_add_from_file. My question is, is there anyway to merge XML and binary so that it will be one single file, put it in resource section if such exist in elf ? (btw. i use C)


Resources in windows, AFAIK, is only a data section with a special header, name, and specially formatted data. My memory could fail me, but I don't recall such a thing on linux, not that it'd matter. The problem you're having is that the function accepts a specific file name. Therefore, your best bet is a temp file. Another function to look into (i haven't messed too much with GTK) is gtk_builder_add_from_string. That might do what you want.
Post 19 Apr 2010, 22:07
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Nedzad



Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Nedzad 20 Apr 2010, 12:00
Done:
Open
Save
Run Fasm

Needs to be done:

Gtksourceview syntaxhighligh
Syntaxhighlight file
Compile error report

C and GTK (UI design with glade)

FYI: This is my first ever C program, i've never done anything in C or C++. I do some PHP stuff so it kinda looks similar!


Description:
Filesize: 94.32 KB
Viewed: 11972 Time(s)

Sample.png



_________________
No Signature !


Last edited by Nedzad on 20 Apr 2010, 12:05; edited 2 times in total
Post 20 Apr 2010, 12:00
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Nedzad



Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Nedzad 20 Apr 2010, 12:02
Quote:

Resources in windows, AFAIK, is only a data section with a special header, name, and specially formatted data. My memory could fail me, but I don't recall such a thing on linux, not that it'd matter. The problem you're having is that the function accepts a specific file name. Therefore, your best bet is a temp file. Another function to look into (i haven't messed too much with GTK) is gtk_builder_add_from_string. That might do what you want.


It doesnt metter ill leave it in seperate file !

_________________
No Signature !
Post 20 Apr 2010, 12:02
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
rugxulo 22 Apr 2010, 21:14
Quote:

P.S. Turn off debugging AND turn on smartlinking. (-XX or -XXs, I think.) Maybe you already did this, but I doubt it. It makes a big difference.


What the hell are you on about? I've never had to do any of this with dynamic linking.
[/quote]

It's moot now that he's using C, but I was referring to FPC/Lazarus.
Post 22 Apr 2010, 21:14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2025, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.