flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > Adding Some Description to you software

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
adroit



Joined: 21 Feb 2010
Posts: 252
adroit
Hey, I want to find out how to add technical description to my programs. I have searched on the net, and couldn't find anything. Here is an example of what I'm looking for:

Name: Hexpad
File: Hexpad.exe
Lang: Eng
....
Description: Hexpad is a hex editor, the is able to compile hex scripts back to bin format (or something like that)
That what im looking for. But i'd like it to be more technical!!!
Can you help
Thanks!!!

_________________
meshnix
Post 27 Feb 2010, 03:20
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17716
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Where do you want this description to appear? On the screen? In the source? In the exe? In a help file?

Under what OS? What file format?
Post 27 Feb 2010, 03:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
adroit



Joined: 21 Feb 2010
Posts: 252
adroit
I want it to appear in the source code. It's under XP.
Rem: I want it to be technical
Post 01 Mar 2010, 02:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17716
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Is there some reason you can't use the semi-colon?
Code:
;Name: Hexpad
;File: Hexpad.exe
;Lang: Eng
;....
;Description: Hexpad is a hex editor, the is able to compile hex scripts back to bin format    
Post 01 Mar 2010, 03:01
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
adroit



Joined: 21 Feb 2010
Posts: 252
adroit
Um, no.
Post 01 Mar 2010, 03:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17716
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Why not? Please explain your problem in more detail.
Post 01 Mar 2010, 03:06
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
adroit



Joined: 21 Feb 2010
Posts: 252
adroit
I just want to know how to add information about my program into the source code
Post 01 Mar 2010, 03:06
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17716
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
You can add anything you want to the source code. But if you don't want to use the semi-colon (why?) then you make your job a lot harder.
Post 01 Mar 2010, 03:09
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2140
Location: Estonia
Madis731
Maybe its a weird explanation for an "about"-dialog?
About_text db "Hex info....",0
Post 01 Mar 2010, 07:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
ouadji



Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 1081
Location: Belgium
ouadji
Quote:
from revolution :

if you don't want to use the semi-colon,
then you make your job a lot harder. ..... Question
Idea Arrow clic and clic Wink

_________________
I am not young enough to know everything (Oscar Wilde)- Image
Post 01 Mar 2010, 08:24
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4242
Location: 2018
edfed
readme.txt
whatsnew.txt
Post 01 Mar 2010, 08:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ouadji



Joined: 24 Dec 2008
Posts: 1081
Location: Belgium
ouadji
Image Razz

_________________
I am not young enough to know everything (Oscar Wilde)- Image
Post 01 Mar 2010, 09:33
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4242
Location: 2018
edfed
readme.txt in more compatible with .zip than a note book. Smile
Post 01 Mar 2010, 14:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
I think he means that thing that appears in the properties dialogs of executables.

Check MINIPAD example in fasm Windows package.
Post 01 Mar 2010, 17:20
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
MHajduk



Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 6038
Location: Poland
MHajduk
MeshNix wrote:
Hey, I want to find out how to add technical description to my programs. I have searched on the net, and couldn't find anything. Here is an example of what I'm looking for:

Name: Hexpad
File: Hexpad.exe
Lang: Eng
....
Description: Hexpad is a hex editor, the is able to compile hex scripts back to bin format (or something like that)
That what im looking for. But i'd like it to be more technical!!!
Can you help
Thanks!!!
You can place some technical description in the resources section of your programs (in 'versioninfo' resource fields and in manifest). Is it what you meant? See example code (slightly modified windows template example with added version info and manifest):
Code:
; Modified template example from the FASM package with added version info
; and embedded manifest.
;
format PE GUI 4.0


include 'win32wx.inc'
include '\ENCODING\utf8.inc'

section '.data' data readable writeable

  _class du 'FASMWIN32',0
  _title du 'Win32 program template',0
  _error du 'Startup failed.',0

  wc WNDCLASS 0,WindowProc,0,0,NULL,NULL,NULL,COLOR_BTNFACE+1,NULL,_class

  msg MSG

section '.text' code readable executable

  start:

 invoke  GetModuleHandle,0
   mov     [wc.hInstance],eax
  invoke  LoadIcon,0,IDI_APPLICATION
  mov     [wc.hIcon],eax
      invoke  LoadCursor,0,IDC_ARROW
      mov     [wc.hCursor],eax
    invoke  RegisterClass,wc
    test    eax,eax
     jz      error

   invoke  CreateWindowEx,0,_class,_title,WS_VISIBLE+WS_DLGFRAME+WS_SYSMENU,128,128,256,192,NULL,NULL,[wc.hInstance],NULL
      test    eax,eax
     jz      error

  msg_loop:
        invoke  GetMessage,msg,NULL,0,0
     cmp     eax,1
       jb      end_loop
    jne     msg_loop
    invoke  TranslateMessage,msg
        invoke  DispatchMessage,msg
 jmp     msg_loop

  error:
        invoke  MessageBox,NULL,_error,NULL,MB_ICONERROR+MB_OK

  end_loop:
       invoke  ExitProcess,[msg.wParam]

proc WindowProc hwnd,wmsg,wparam,lparam
     push    ebx esi edi
 cmp     [wmsg],WM_DESTROY
   je      .wmdestroy
  .defwndproc:
    invoke  DefWindowProc,[hwnd],[wmsg],[wparam],[lparam]
       jmp     .finish
  .wmdestroy:
        invoke  PostQuitMessage,0
   xor     eax,eax
  .finish:
   pop     edi esi ebx
 ret
endp

.end start

; Section containing definitions of the application resources.
;
section '.rsrc' resource data readable

    RT_MANIFEST     = 24
        ID_MANIFEST     = 1

     directory       RT_VERSION, versions,\
                     RT_MANIFEST, manifest

   resource        versions,\
                 1, LANG_NEUTRAL, version

        resource        manifest,\
                 ID_MANIFEST, LANG_NEUTRAL, man

  versioninfo     version, VOS__WINDOWS32, VFT_APP, VFT2_UNKNOWN, LANG_ENGLISH + SUBLANG_DEFAULT, 0,\
                        'FileDescription', 'Short description of your application.',\
                  'LegalCopyright', '(C) 2010, Your Name',\
                      'FileVersion', '1.0.0.0',\
                     'ProductVersion', '1.0.0.0',\
                  'OriginalFilename', 'YourProgName.exe'

      ; Data of the manifest embedded directly into the source file.
      ;
   resdata man
         db '<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>'
          db '<assembly xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1" manifestVersion="1.0">'
          db '<assemblyIdentity '
                        db 'version="1.0.0.0" '
                 db 'processorArchitecture="X86" '
                       db 'name="Your Name.YourProgName" '
                     db 'type="win32"'
               db '/>'
                db '<description>Short description of your application.</description>'
                db '<dependency>'
                   db '<dependentAssembly>'
                            db '<assemblyIdentity '
                                        db 'type="win32" '
                                      db 'name="Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls" '
                                  db 'version="6.0.0.0" '
                                 db 'processorArchitecture="X86" '
                                       db 'publicKeyToken="6595b64144ccf1df" '
                                 db 'language="*"'
                               db '/>'
                        db '</dependentAssembly>'
           db '</dependency>'
          db '</assembly>'
    endres
    
Post 01 Mar 2010, 17:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
adroit



Joined: 21 Feb 2010
Posts: 252
adroit
MHajduk, Yea - you got the idea. That's what I meant.
Post 01 Mar 2010, 20:17
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.