flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > [solved] CPUID trouble

Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
dosin



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 337
dosin
if you want maybe post some more code or pm it to me and I could test out for you... See if I can track down whats causing it..
Post 30 Jan 2010, 01:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41
If you want, in the mean time i'm going to continue to attempt a GDT.

EDIT: Just realized I uploaded the wrong code... fixed...


Description: A broken p-mode bootible CPUID.
Download
Filename: boot.asm
Filesize: 4.92 KB
Downloaded: 49 Time(s)


_________________
Want hosting for free for your asm project? You can PM me. (*.fasm4u.net)
Post 30 Jan 2010, 02:14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sinsi



Joined: 10 Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Location: Adelaide
sinsi
Code:
  mov     ah, 0B        ; CYAN!    
BLACK!

Did you mean 0Bh maybe?
Post 30 Jan 2010, 02:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17287
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
sinsi wrote:
Code:
  mov     ah, 0B        ; CYAN!    
BLACK!

Did you mean 0Bh maybe?
This is one of the reasons I started to use the C-style 0x0B for constants.
Post 30 Jan 2010, 02:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
CPUID



Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Location: Right here
CPUID
0x s0x i mean sUx

btw im sorry im causing so much trouble in this thread Wink
Post 30 Jan 2010, 08:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41
sinsi wrote:
Code:
  mov     ah, 0B        ; CYAN!    
BLACK!

Did you mean 0Bh maybe?

Oops Embarassed he he, thanks Laughing

BTW: I noticed that CPUID does not return regs into EBX, ECX, EDX in order? It seems to return into EBX, EDX, and ECX, why is this?

_________________
Want hosting for free for your asm project? You can PM me. (*.fasm4u.net)
Post 30 Jan 2010, 13:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17287
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Any ordering you think might be real is just an illusion. Have a look at the register encoding in the INTEL/AMD manual. It does not follow the expected A-B-C-D-... order.
Post 30 Jan 2010, 13:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Coddy41



Joined: 18 Jan 2009
Posts: 384
Location: Ohio, USA
Coddy41
I see, I still think it should have been done alpha beticly but, OK they made it not me Very Happy

_________________
Want hosting for free for your asm project? You can PM me. (*.fasm4u.net)
Post 30 Jan 2010, 17:01
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.