flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > GetCommandLine for win9x?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Azu



Joined: 16 Dec 2008
Posts: 1160
Azu
What function should I use for win9x since GetCommandLine requires a minimum of Windows 2000 (according to Microsoft)? Is there one that works in Windows 95/98 and later ones? Or will I have to check which version of Windows is running at startup?

_________________
Post 13 Dec 2009, 23:52
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Get win32.hlp somewhere and use it to know if the API functions you want are supported by deprecated Windows versions or not.
Post 14 Dec 2009, 00:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Azu



Joined: 16 Dec 2008
Posts: 1160
Azu
Well on their own website it says it's not so I trust them, I mean it is their operating system right? What I'm asking is, since it isn't supported, what should I use instead..
Post 14 Dec 2009, 00:27
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Fanael



Joined: 03 Jul 2009
Posts: 168
Fanael
It will work under 9x. Microsoft just ended the support for these systems long ago, and now documentation says that many functions require Windows 2000 at least, even though they work under 9x.
Post 14 Dec 2009, 00:32
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Quote:

Well on their own website it says it's not so I trust them, I mean it is their operating system right? What I'm asking is, since it isn't supported, what should I use instead..

Yes, but seems that no matter how many times we say what Fanael said just above, you always come with the very same type of questions about this...
Post 14 Dec 2009, 00:34
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17249
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Azu wrote:
Well on their own website it says it's not so I trust them,
That level of trust is not deserved.
Post 14 Dec 2009, 00:50
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Azu



Joined: 16 Dec 2008
Posts: 1160
Azu
Thanks, I guess you guys are right; trusting MS is silly. I'll just disregard what they say from now on.

_________________
Post 14 Dec 2009, 03:13
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Borsuc



Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 2466
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Borsuc
Yes indeed, I don't understand why they did so -- after all, it was more work to remove it and it worked perfectly fine Confused
Post 14 Dec 2009, 03:43
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
Azu wrote:
What function should I use for win9x since GetCommandLine requires a minimum of Windows 2000 (according to Microsoft)? Is there one that works in Windows 95/98 and later ones? Or will I have to check which version of Windows is running at startup?


Has been answered just 2 weeks ago: http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=10872

Even worse: !!! You're caught, no way out from your ME !!!

Code:
http://msdn.macrosoft.com/en-us/library/ms682658(VS.85).aspx    


Quote:
Thanks, I guess you guys are right; trusting MS is silly. I'll just disregard what they say from now on.


Get DOS Idea
Post 15 Dec 2009, 02:44
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Azu



Joined: 16 Dec 2008
Posts: 1160
Azu
DOS386 wrote:
Azu wrote:
What function should I use for win9x since GetCommandLine requires a minimum of Windows 2000 (according to Microsoft)? Is there one that works in Windows 95/98 and later ones? Or will I have to check which version of Windows is running at startup?


Has been answered just 2 weeks ago: http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=10872

Thanks, I don't need CommandLineToArgvW though.

Poor thing... Shocked

DOS386 wrote:
Quote:
Thanks, I guess you guys are right; trusting MS is silly. I'll just disregard what they say from now on.


Get DOS Idea
Never!

_________________
Post 15 Dec 2009, 02:57
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
Quote:
Poor thing...


OK, under ME you can trash the IDT and raise a TripleFault with less than 10 instructions, so no need for this call either Laughing

Quote:
Never!


OK, just trust MS Smile
Post 15 Dec 2009, 03:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Azu



Joined: 16 Dec 2008
Posts: 1160
Azu
DOS386 wrote:
Quote:
Poor thing...


OK, under ME you can trash the IDT and raise a TripleFault with less than 10 instructions, so no need for this call either Laughing
Can't you just use ret or xor esp,esp to do it in 1? Or that only works in Windows 2000 and up?

DOS386 wrote:
Quote:
Never!


OK, just trust MS Smile
False dichotomy. Razz

_________________
Post 15 Dec 2009, 03:22
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.