flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > AMI BIOS Reverse Engineering Article

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Pinczakko

Pinczakko
Long time not being here.. I got something for you guys Wink

My AMI BIOS Reverse Engineering article:
http://sites.google.com/site/pinczakko/pinczakko-s-guide-to-ami-bios-reverse-engineering-1

Hopefully, it's of some use or interest.

Ciao Very Happy

Post 06 Nov 2009, 16:58
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Borsuc

Borsuc
I think I have it converted to .chm somewhere, if it's still the older article. Good job, nice. Smile
Post 06 Nov 2009, 19:13
Pinczakko

Pinczakko
Well, no Wink

The old article was for Award BIOS reverse engineering. This is AMI BIOS reverse engineering.

Post 06 Nov 2009, 19:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Borsuc

Borsuc
Ah yes sorry I'm not very good at BIOSes myself Razz

EDIT: I have an AMI BIOS right now lol.
Post 06 Nov 2009, 19:26
Pinczakko

Pinczakko
Anyway, some changes have happened since the article was written. Recent AMI BIOS (since about 2007) use segment 4000h for the "POST entry point" instead of segment 2771h explained in the article. I haven't take that into account in the article because the BIOS I dissected dated back to 2005.

Post 06 Nov 2009, 19:35
Dex4u

Dex4u
Great articles Pinczakko, alot of usefull stuff that i hope to try soon, thanks.
Post 06 Nov 2009, 23:33
vid
Verbosity in development

vid
Hi Pinczakko, great to see you here!

I have some beginner questions:
1. How to reliably extract BIOS image under windows? Is it enough just to read range at the top of physical memory (what range exactly?), or do you have to extract it from BIOS update package somehow? Can you advice some tools that you use to extract BIOS, and to extract its packed modules?