flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > DOS > problem with dos example

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt 18 Aug 2009, 18:54
I'm getting a 'reserved word used as symbol' error, and can't find what is causing it , so I was wondering if anybody can help me find where or what is causing the error.


Description: File giving me the error
Download
Filename: DotSpin.zip
Filesize: 2.68 KB
Downloaded: 470 Time(s)


_________________
Gimme a sledge hammer! I'LL FIX IT!
Post 18 Aug 2009, 18:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 18 Aug 2009, 20:31
I see where it's messing up, but have no fix for you. If you look in the box where it says 'reserved word used as symbol' you see "pushd[DOTS.y+ax]", you're trying to "pushd" a word. Also, I don't think ax can be used in this case.

EDIT:
Ya, its ax thats the problem along with you only having x and y as words. So, either make your own calling routine, or change DOTS struct to have X and Y as Dwords. Also, rewrite the role of ax into bx and use [DOTS.x + bx] instead.


BTW: Just noticed, your a Michigander too. What part do you live in? I live in the thumb area.

_________________
----> * <---- My star, won HERE
Post 18 Aug 2009, 20:31
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt 18 Aug 2009, 22:38
Hello windwakr,
Yeh, ok, thanks. Had an Idea that's what it was, but the error doesn't really match the problem. Looks like I'll have to do it a a lower assembly level. Yep, this Michigander live's just southwest of Grand Rapids, In a small town called Holland. Nice place to live, even in Michigan's Economic troubles. Smile
Post 18 Aug 2009, 22:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1903
DOS386 21 Oct 2009, 02:11
madmatt wrote:
I'm getting a 'reserved word used as symbol' error, and can't find what is causing it , so I was wondering if anybody can help me find where or what is causing the error.


It is the "AX" (again), just check the FAQ on the top why. Also, I don't know whether Win32 PROC macro's can be used for 16-bit code, just search for PROC16 or so or avoid PROC Wink
Post 21 Oct 2009, 02:11
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.