flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Firefox 3.5 should be out today

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
drhowarddrfine



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
drhowarddrfine
Sometime today. It will take a while for it to get through all the different servers around the world.

I only skimmed this but here's a quick review. Note the javascript speed comparison graph, especially IE8 (shorter is better).
Post 30 Jun 2009, 13:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
asmcoder



Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 784
asmcoder
[content deleted]


Last edited by asmcoder on 14 Aug 2009, 14:49; edited 1 time in total
Post 30 Jun 2009, 14:23
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
drhowarddrfine



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
drhowarddrfine
Post 30 Jun 2009, 16:44
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
I have it available as an update but I've decided not installing it because it says Firebug will be unavailable afterwards.
Post 30 Jun 2009, 17:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
TmX



Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 821
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
TmX
just recently installed it

1 add-on is not compatible: add n edit cookies

everything else works fine
Post 30 Jun 2009, 17:24
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
Location: Michigan, USA
windwakr
I'm trying out firefox for the first time, it's pretty cool. I may switch from IE to it if I can figure out how to change some annoying things....like:

I know this isn't a firefox forum, but how do I disable the autocomplete in it? You know, the list that comes down on edit boxes that shows recently typed stuff, Its so annoying and I can't find a setting for it or anything on google. Also, is there a way to turn off fast middle click scrolling by scrolling the wheel like in IE?
Post 30 Jun 2009, 21:34
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
drhowarddrfine



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
drhowarddrfine
Tools->Options->Privacy

For more fun, type in the address bar 'about:config' for all the available configurations and then enter 'mouse' for the mouse. Firefox is ultimately configurable so you may have to google for the list of options. Otherwise, I'll get you the link on Mozilla later.


Last edited by drhowarddrfine on 30 Jun 2009, 22:09; edited 1 time in total
Post 30 Jun 2009, 22:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
Location: Michigan, USA
windwakr
EDIT: OK, nvm. Had to pick "use custom settings for history."
Thanks.

EDIT2: Ok, thanks for the help.

Hmmm....Can't find anything on the scrolling thing.

_________________
----> * <---- My star, won HERE


Last edited by windwakr on 30 Jun 2009, 22:36; edited 2 times in total
Post 30 Jun 2009, 22:08
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
drhowarddrfine



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
drhowarddrfine
See my edit. Also make sure you look at add-ons under Tools.
Post 30 Jun 2009, 22:10
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
Location: Michigan, USA
windwakr
Ok, I have everything modified exactly how I like it(except for the mouse scroll thing). I like how you can customize everything. It's a very nice browser, I will switch from IE to it.


Woo, 2 posts from 2^8 posts!
Post 30 Jun 2009, 23:02
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
Location: Michigan, USA
windwakr
Is there an add-on or setting to get it to show the size of a file at this screen?


Also, anyone know how to get full unicode support? I have the Arial unicode ms font, but theres still alot of unicode I can't see.


Description:
Filesize: 14.13 KB
Viewed: 5642 Time(s)

download.png



_________________
----> * <---- My star, won HERE
Post 02 Jul 2009, 03:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
drhowarddrfine



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
drhowarddrfine
Tools->Options->Applications.

Firefox has complete utf support but you can select any of them under View->Character Encoding
Post 02 Jul 2009, 04:37
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
kalambong



Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 165
kalambong
TmX wrote:
just recently installed it

1 add-on is not compatible: add n edit cookies

everything else works fine


Let me post the comments from https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/573

"You can Download with support to FF3.5. i only changed the maxVersion to 3.* in the install.rdf file. works fine! enjoy

Rated 5 out of 5 stars by CaTz_il on July 2, 2009 "
Post 04 Jul 2009, 01:44
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
OK, Firebug 1.4 appeared as an update today and it finally allowed me to switch to Firefox 3.5 (and shortly after I've updated to 3.5.1). It is working good so far.

[edit]BTW, JavaScript is indeed faster. I have made a test with a mouse move event code that with Firefox 3.0 was taking 100% CPU usage (but to the eye it was still looking as an immediate response), and now I can't pass 90%.

Under IE8 it takes 100% CPU usage and the response time is very, VERY perceptible...[/edit]
Post 17 Jul 2009, 14:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
drhowarddrfine



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
drhowarddrfine
IE8s javascript engine is 8x slower than Firefox 3.5 and Chrome. It's also the slowest of all the browser engines and somewhat non-standard.
Post 17 Jul 2009, 15:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
I have just install 3.5.2 today on one of my machines. The following happened:

  • I lost all my bookmarks, they were reset back to default. (I can restore but not nice for that to happen)
  • One of my add-ons is not compatible and has been disabled.
  • The claimed lower memory usage is a lie, it is now using 13% more RAM than 3.0.13
Post 16 Aug 2009, 08:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8885
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
i experienced weird situation with firefox
assume your network is connected, but gateway to internet temporarily down.
whenever you try to load a website using firefox, it would performs noticeable hangs. (try it if you don't believe me).

i switch to firefox because i love the private browsing (i don't know yet if opera got this feature).
Post 16 Aug 2009, 14:23
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
drhowarddrfine



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
drhowarddrfine
revolution wrote:
I have just install 3.5.2 today on one of my machines. The following happened:

  • I lost all my bookmarks, they were reset back to default.
You installed it or upgraded? You never lose your bookmarks because there are multiple backups in your profile, unless you deleted your profile or made a new one, they're still there.
Quote:
(I can restore but not nice for that to happen)
I've never seen that in all the years I've been running FF, and I run the nightly build, too.
Quote:
One of my add-ons is not compatible and has been disabled.
Not a Firefox issue. That's the developer of that add on but they're usually updated within a few days or couple weeks.
Quote:
The claimed lower memory usage is a lie, it is now using 13% more RAM than 3.0.13
Then you are mis-interpreting something. One of the major components was reworked and usage is down significantly.
Post 16 Aug 2009, 21:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
drhowarddrfine



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 535
drhowarddrfine
sleepsleep wrote:
i experienced weird situation with firefox
assume your network is connected, but gateway to internet temporarily down.
whenever you try to load a website using firefox, it would performs noticeable hangs.
It's not hung, it's waiting for a response and will time out. You can change the time it will wait, in about:config, but I forgot which setting.
Post 16 Aug 2009, 21:26
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17270
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
drhowarddrfine wrote:
You installed it or upgraded? You never lose your bookmarks because there are multiple backups in your profile, unless you deleted your profile or made a new one, they're still there.
I clicked on the dialog box inviting me to upgrade, nothing special. I had to take a copy of my bookmarks from my other machine to get them back. Everything else was gone, and I didn't delete it.
drhowarddrfine wrote:
Not a Firefox issue. That's the developer of that add on but they're usually updated within a few days or couple weeks.
Yes, I know, just an observation. People should know any possible problems.
drhowarddrfine wrote:
Quote:
The claimed lower memory usage is a lie, it is now using 13% more RAM than 3.0.13
Then you are mis-interpreting something. One of the major components was reworked and usage is down significantly.
This is just my experience. For me it uses more RAM, that is what I see in the task manager.
Post 16 Aug 2009, 21:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.