flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > DOS > Need VESA help

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 16 Jun 2009, 16:52
I'm just starting to get into VESA modes and am having alot of trouble. I'm trying to go into 1024x768x32bpp mode, but when I set the mode up my monitor displays "FREQUENCY OUT OF RANGE". I don't get it, windows operates on that mode(my resolution is set as 1024x768x32bpp 60hz), so why can't I set it up? Could the VESA mode be set up in wrong refresh rate?


Here's my test code:
Code:
org 100h

mov ax,4F02h ;VESA set mode
mov bx,0118h ;1024x768x32bpp (at least for me it is)
int 10h

;Just some test drawing code
push 0A000h
pop es
xor di,di
mov ax,5588h
mov cx,7FFFh
rep stosw
;End of test drawing code

key:   ;esc key checking
in al,60h
dec al
jnz key
mov ax,03h
int 10h
ret
    


EDIT: I'm pretty sure now that it's a problem with windows xp, when I find a floppy i'll test it on boot.

_________________
----> * <---- My star, won HERE
Post 16 Jun 2009, 16:52
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1900
DOS386 17 Jun 2009, 08:38
windwakr wrote:
I'm just starting to get into VESA modes and am having alot of trouble.
EDIT: I'm pretty sure now that it's a problem with windows xp, when I find a floppy i'll test it on boot.


Please test DOS code in DOS. Also, since VESA 2.0 you should pick a mode from the list supplied by $4F00 and $4F01 rather than using hardcoded values.

Download: http://board.flatassembler.net/download.php?id=3915 (46 KiB, source in "C" (but "anticryptic" syntax) + DOS executable)

Download: http://board.flatassembler.net/download.php?id=3913 (7-ZIP, 580 KiB, VESA specs)
Post 17 Jun 2009, 08:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 17 Jun 2009, 16:33
I've done my research, I've seen all the programs you and others have about VESA on the forums, I used DJ Mauretto's VESA mode tool to determine that mode. I know that the VESA modes aren't predefined and the same resolution and bpp can be different modes on different computers. This code was just test code for me to see if I could set up that mode. I've also been reading that xp doesn't like DOS programs using high resolution VESA modes, so thats probably the problem. But I won't be able to test it until I find a damn floppy.
Post 17 Jun 2009, 16:33
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Borsuc



Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 2465
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Borsuc 17 Jun 2009, 22:46
windwakr wrote:
But I won't be able to test it until I find a damn floppy.
Use a virtual machine like Qemu!

_________________
Previously known as The_Grey_Beast
Post 17 Jun 2009, 22:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
windwakr



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 827
windwakr 17 Jun 2009, 22:47
But I still want to know if it will work right on MY machine.
Post 17 Jun 2009, 22:47
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1900
DOS386 18 Jun 2009, 08:13
windwakr wrote:
won't be able to test it until I find a damn floppy.
But I still want to know if it will work right on MY machine.


Install the damn DOS on your damn HD. Idea

_________________
Bug Nr.: 12345

Title: Hello World program compiles to 100 KB !!!

Status: Closed: NOT a Bug
Post 18 Jun 2009, 08:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.