flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > rb fasm syntax

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
GhostXoPCorp



Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Posts: 199
Location: 01F0:0100
GhostXoPCorp
ok i have never used rb instead of db before, does rb mean i can redefine the variable or......


sorry if this is a pitiful question, i have found it in the documentation, wanted to know if this will be useful for my development

_________________
Oh that divide overflow. Just jumps out of the bushes every time to scare the day lights out of me.
Post 17 Jun 2009, 03:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17352
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
rb = reserve bytes.
Code:
rb 100 ;place 100 bytes into the code    
Same as:
Code:
db 100 dup (?)    
There is no effect on the label (if you have one), just the defined data.
Post 17 Jun 2009, 03:33
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
iic2



Joined: 26 Jun 2008
Posts: 123
iic2
I keep up better by using dd and db. It a matter of appeal i guest.
Post 17 Jun 2009, 04:34
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
GhostXoPCorp



Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Posts: 199
Location: 01F0:0100
GhostXoPCorp
it just puts 100 spaces in the code?

_________________
Oh that divide overflow. Just jumps out of the bushes every time to scare the day lights out of me.
Post 17 Jun 2009, 04:49
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17352
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
GhostXoPCorp wrote:
it just puts 100 spaces in the code?
Do I hear and echo?
Post 17 Jun 2009, 04:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
bitRAKE



Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 2917
Location: [RSP+8*5]
bitRAKE
Code:
MyData rb 100    
It is important to modeling data structure, and allowing access through a symbolic address. Rather than explicitly stating the address of each reference we can represent the desired structure and let the assembler keep track of addresses and offsets. FASM also tracks the size of definition to catch common coding errors which use the symbolic name.
Post 17 Jun 2009, 05:14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
GhostXoPCorp



Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Posts: 199
Location: 01F0:0100
GhostXoPCorp
is this a better option in making buffers?

_________________
Oh that divide overflow. Just jumps out of the bushes every time to scare the day lights out of me.
Post 17 Jun 2009, 07:50
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17352
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Better option than what?
Post 17 Jun 2009, 08:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
GhostXoPCorp



Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Posts: 199
Location: 01F0:0100
GhostXoPCorp
is rb a better option for making buffers for getting keys and other stuff that needs stored in buffers

_________________
Oh that divide overflow. Just jumps out of the bushes every time to scare the day lights out of me.
Post 17 Jun 2009, 17:16
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
iic2



Joined: 26 Jun 2008
Posts: 123
iic2
You're talking about gathering -up your security files or needing organization, etc? I really don't think it makes no difference, they both work!... but I would never overlook any previous response which carries it own weight in gold.

I like db and dd because as well as FASM, other ASM communities also carry thousands of top-of-the-line examples that will teach you *minumun* the advanced stuff so fast it's embarrassing. This is masm32.

I don't like preliminaries, I like light/warp speed, so I go one-below where the (real) action is Smile

I like keeping things as simple as possible when it's time to translate, with-out the need of involving other lang to get a simple job done.
Post 17 Jun 2009, 21:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Borsuc



Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 2466
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Borsuc
GhostXoPCorp wrote:
it just puts 100 spaces in the code?
There's a difference because rb is uninitialized data, and might not waste space in your executable but only reserve once loaded in memory. On the other hand db will surely put that data in your executable.

_________________
Previously known as The_Grey_Beast
Post 17 Jun 2009, 22:49
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17352
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Borsuc wrote:
On the other hand db will surely put that data in your executable.
That is wrong. See the second post above. db can also put uninitialised data
Code:
db ?    
Post 18 Jun 2009, 00:07
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Borsuc



Joined: 29 Dec 2005
Posts: 2466
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Borsuc
revolution wrote:
That is wrong. See the second post above. db can also put uninitialised data
Code:
db ?    
You know what I was talking about, putting values not question marks Wink

_________________
Previously known as The_Grey_Beast
Post 18 Jun 2009, 00:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.