flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.
 Home   FAQ   Search   Register 
 Profile   Log in to check your private messages   Log in 
flat assembler > Unix > FASM on FreeBSD 7 AMD64

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
dap



Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 61
Location: Belgium
FASM on FreeBSD 7 AMD64
Hello,

I have installed FASM from the packages :

Code:
pkg_add -r fasm


But when I call FASM it always invokes a seg fault. Also, can I run 32 bits programs on 64 bits FreeBSD ? I have tried to build a 32 bits executable with this command :

Code:
gcc -m32 file.c -o file


But I get three errors from ld (I can't give them now, I'm on Windows), so I can't test. Did someone here find a workaround ?

I already have found a topic on this subject : http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=7684
I have not tried this solution yet because I thougt that FASM shoud work (at least on 32 bits) if someone bothered to make a package for it.

Thanks.

_________________
(French only) http://dap.developpez.com
Post 24 May 2008, 17:55
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4641
Location: Argentina
http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?p=64688#64688 (But you will need to update and actually you won't need this anymore because newer versions resolved the problem by doing I/O in a different manner).

Just download from www.flatassembler.net the Unix and link it yourself. About using fasm under FreeBSD 64-bit I think it should be possible, perhaps you don't have the i386-libc-dev (or whatever)?

By installing from packages do you mean the portage maintained by the FreeBSD community? Which version they are providing? Because, this problem was fixed long time ago...
Post 25 May 2008, 00:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
dap



Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 61
Location: Belgium

LocoDelAssembly wrote:
http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?p=64688#64688 (But you will need to update and actually you won't need this anymore because newer versions resolved the problem by doing I/O in a different manner).

Just download from www.flatassembler.net the Unix and link it yourself.


Sorry but I'm new to Unix, where should I put the files ? I guess the executable goes to /usr/local/bin, the documentation in /share/doc ? And the source and the examples ?


LocoDelAssembly wrote:
About using fasm under FreeBSD 64-bit I think it should be possible, perhaps you don't have the i386-libc-dev (or whatever)?


Finally I just had to specify "-B /usr/lib32" in the command-line because the default /usr/lib contains 64 bits stuff. Now it works fine.


LocoDelAssembly wrote:
By installing from packages do you mean the portage maintained by the FreeBSD community? Which version they are providing? Because, this problem was fixed long time ago...


It seems up to date (1.67) : http://portsmon.freebsd.org/portoverview.py?category=lang&portname=fasm
But I don't if I got the latest version with the PKG_ADD command. I run the 7 RELEASE version and here is what the handbook says :

Quote:
Note: pkg_add(1) will download the latest version of your application if you are using FreeBSD-CURRENT or FreeBSD-STABLE. If you run a -RELEASE version, it will grab the version of the package that was built with your release.


http://www.freebsd.org/doc/en_US.ISO8859-1/books/handbook/packages-using.html

_________________
(French only) http://dap.developpez.com
Post 26 May 2008, 21:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
dap



Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 61
Location: Belgium
In fact it runs fine if I compile it from the ports. I have mailed the maintainer so that he can upload the good binaries.

_________________
(French only) http://dap.developpez.com
Post 01 Jun 2008, 17:03
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
rxantos



Joined: 19 Jul 2008
Posts: 41
Could you put the command line on how to build it from the ports?

I tried adding the -B /usr/lib32 to gcc, it compiles, but the resulting executable gives a core dump under amd64.
Post 30 Aug 2008, 18:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
dap



Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 61
Location: Belgium
Just this (as root):

Code:
cd /usr/ports/lang/fasm
make install clean



If you use tcsh you may have to type "rehash" before the fasm command is recognized.

_________________
(French only) http://dap.developpez.com
Post 28 Sep 2008, 12:07
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group.

Main index   Download   Documentation   Examples   Message board
Copyright © 2004-2016, Tomasz Grysztar.