flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > Useful In and out ports.

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Pixelator



Joined: 07 Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Location: Over there
Pixelator
Does anybody know if there is a chart somewhere that has a list of a few (or more) useful input and/or output ports?

_________________
Do not your will but the Lord's will.
Post 08 Jan 2008, 22:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
On Windows? Note that NT-based kernels (NT, 2000, XP, 2003, Vista), doesn't allow the applications to access I/O space and you need a driver (google GiveIO).

For a list of ports you can download Part D of the Ralf Brown's interrupt list here and check Ports.* files inside the ZIP. Also check OS Construction forum that can have more info around this (or at least useful links with this information).
Post 08 Jan 2008, 23:52
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Pixelator



Joined: 07 Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Location: Over there
Pixelator
thank you for the link, but im not quite sure what you mean by by the I/O space thing. I just want to get info from the keyboard.
Post 09 Jan 2008, 03:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
What kind of info? Isn't enough Windows API?
Post 09 Jan 2008, 04:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Pixelator



Joined: 07 Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Location: Over there
Pixelator
like what key is pressed...
Post 09 Jan 2008, 15:46
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
Pixelator, make up your mind - do you want to do this under Windows, or do you want to do it with Port I/O? If it's the former, you have to drop using ports. If it's the latter, this thread was posted in the wrong section.

Please state your intents, then we can move forward to the solution Smile
Post 09 Jan 2008, 15:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Pixelator



Joined: 07 Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Location: Over there
Pixelator
Quote:

Windows, or do you want to do it with Port I/O?


I am extremely new and not used to this style of programming (i come from Dark Basic) so i don't know the difference. All i know is i want to use the commands in and out. Please help me.
Post 09 Jan 2008, 15:59
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
If this Dark Basic creates programs that runs on Windows then beleave me, it doesn't use direct I/O.

Also note that you will not be able to read the keyboard port in time since the keyboard interrupt handler provided by Windows will read it before you and hence you will loose multi-byte keys (and single-byte as well?).

Read Keyboard Input tutorial from iczelion and Keyboard Input from MSDN
Post 09 Jan 2008, 18:10
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4215
Location: 2018
edfed
Post 09 Jan 2008, 19:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Pixelator



Joined: 07 Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Location: Over there
Pixelator
i am going to use this (maybe) for an OS, i just want to print text to the screen.

_________________
Do not your will but the Lord's will.
Post 09 Jan 2008, 22:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1903
DOS386
@mods

1. Move to "OS constructin" DONE was in "Windows"

@pixelator

2. Avoid "windows", play with ports in DOS, see DOS subforum

3. OS coding is hard Crying or Very sad


Last edited by DOS386 on 10 Jan 2008, 01:32; edited 1 time in total
Post 09 Jan 2008, 22:27
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Pixelator



Joined: 07 Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Location: Over there
Pixelator
srry, i didn't see the Os Construction board.
i don't have a computer running dos
Post 09 Jan 2008, 23:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
DOS386 wrote:

3. OS coding is hard Crying or Very sad


Not really - but obtaining device specifications to able to write drivers - that's hard Wink

_________________
Image - carpe noctem
Post 09 Jan 2008, 23:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1903
DOS386
> obtaining device specifications to able to write drivers - that's hard

YES. Sad

And coding a useful OS is hard Sad

> i don't have a computer running dos

1. Install DOS http://www.unet.univie.ac.at/~a0503736/php/drdoswiki/index.php?n=Main.PartErase
or
2. Use BOCHS or QEMU
Post 10 Jan 2008, 01:31
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2019, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.