flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

flat assembler > DOS > VESA Info utility

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
Hi, Wink
Here there is a small Vesa utility that i have written in this days.
requirements : CPU minimal 386 ,VGA compatible card

Have Fun !


Last edited by DJ Mauretto on 08 Jan 2008, 11:13; edited 2 times in total
Post 18 Jun 2007, 16:34
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4634
Location: Argentina
Tried. Very nice tool DJ Mauretto!!
Post 18 Jun 2007, 16:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
Thanks Loco Wink
Post 18 Jun 2007, 17:47
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
MichaelH



Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 402
Thankyou DJ Mauretto
Post 18 Jun 2007, 21:09
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Hayden



Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 132
nice app!

I dont know if this is a problem but while glancing over...
Code:
_AH_01                  DB "Function call failed",0
_AH_02                  DB "Function is not supported in the current hardware configuration",0
_AH_03                  DB "Function call invalid in current video mode",0
_AH_04                  DB "Vesa not supported",0
    


I notice that you have AH = 4 "Vesa not supported". It is possible for AH = 4 to be an OEM defined error thats not defined by vesa. therefor AH = 4 does not mean vesa not supported.

anyway good job, I'll definatly put this tool onto my diagnostic cd-rw

_________________
New User.. Hayden McKay.
Post 19 Jun 2007, 15:24
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
Hi Hayden Wink
It's not a error ,but only my personal fantasy Idea
however this tool is been written in 4 days ,any bugs is welcome..
it's only a first release , next release will do test all mode Wink
thanks all for estimation
Post 19 Jun 2007, 15:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
Hi Very Happy
this is the second release Vesa 1.1 Wink with
personal interpretation error solved .

Edit: Delete Attachment ,see above for last version


Last edited by DJ Mauretto on 02 May 2008, 09:37; edited 1 time in total
Post 19 Jun 2007, 17:50
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
profkid13



Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Posts: 114
nice too, the big screen modes bigger then 800x600 are not shown correctly on my pc tough... (geforce 4 MX Very Happy)
Post 19 Jun 2007, 19:49
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
HI profkid13 ,
what you mean with not shown correctly?
can you post an example ?
thanks
Post 19 Jun 2007, 20:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Hayden



Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 132
I tested on Gforce 400 MX and it work fine for me...

other suggestions...

* scrolling window for the mode list screen, on my brothers pc there are two many modes for the window...
*when testing under bochs and also if a tsr that has web address in bios string... the string dont wrap arround correctly when it's too long.

theese are only minor things you should consider...

look for my boot sector can be on this page [url] http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=7113 [/url] , you may want to write a handler to trap int 21h AX = 4C00h ( i did'nt bother when trying vbe.e under bochs ) just comment out the ORG 100h directive in vbe.asm and include vbe.asm after my boot-os.asm, then write the binary file to an image or to disk... i use HxD Hex Editor for sector editiing [url] www.mh-nexus.de [/url]

_________________
New User.. Hayden McKay.
Post 20 Jun 2007, 19:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1904
Quote:
Here there is a small Vesa utility that i have wrote in this days.


Very nice Smile

Image

Quote:
the string dont wrap arround correctly when it's too long


YEAH Shocked

You should:
- Force-truncate the "string" if it is too long
- Remove faulty characters <32 and >124

Code:
        LEA     SI,[OemStringPtr]
        PUSH    DS
        MOV     AX,[SI]                         ; IP
        MOV     BX,[SI+2]                       ; CS
        XCHG    SI,AX                           ; SI = IP       
        MOV     DS,BX
        MOV     AX,0B00H                        ; AH = Colore 
        ADD     DI,(640+80)                     ; DI = Offset (640*y)+ x
        CALL    @Stmp_SR                        ; Oem String
        POP     DS
    


- IP & CS - is it correct ?
- Any benefit of LEA SI,[OemStringPtr] over MOV SI,OemStringPtr ?

Any benefit of all the ALIGN's in the code ?

EDIT : updated link


Last edited by DOS386 on 23 May 2010, 02:40; edited 3 times in total
Post 20 Jun 2007, 22:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
Hi ,thanks for your estimation.. Very Happy
I'll try to reply.
Hayden:
Sorry ,which is mode list screen?
Screen 1 ? Screen 2 ?
How many modes has your brothers PC ?
I don't use Emulator or TSR ,but i'll fix the problem with OEM String.
AH = 4Ch INT 21h is the only dos function that i have used , replace
with INT 19H for your Boot.
NTOSKRNL_VXE:
I not expected faulty characters , do you have found some?
The string will be fixed.
IP & CS is correct Smile
I have started to write with LEA and i have continued with it Smile
Align is for my Pentium 3 optimization .
Thanks All Wink
Post 21 Jun 2007, 09:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
Hello Very Happy
Here there is Vesa info v1.3 Wink
News :
Truncate to 60 char OEM string.
Aligned Resolution and Colors view
scrolling mode list number ( I hope enough ...)
remove faulty character

Thanks all Smile

Edit: Delete Attachment , see above for last version


Last edited by DJ Mauretto on 02 May 2008, 09:38; edited 2 times in total
Post 21 Jun 2007, 15:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1904
Quote:
not expected faulty characters , do you have found some?


NOT found myself, but reported to exist Sad
Post 22 Jun 2007, 01:44
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
I have uploaded new version e remove faulty char Laughing
the new version 1.3 has replace 1.2 version, just edit previous post.
Post 22 Jun 2007, 09:27
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
Hello Hayden Smile
Today i have tryed your boot prog. with my Vesa 1.3 ,it's work fine.. Wink
For who is interested here there is floppy image ... Cool
Post 22 Jun 2007, 12:32
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1904
Post 23 Jun 2007, 00:00
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
I had imagined that it was full of bug, already while I experimented on my PC. Also many bios are full of bug, all this remove me desire to program Sad
Post 23 Jun 2007, 09:24
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
profkid13



Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Posts: 114
it shows for example: 320*240 instead of 768*1024
PS: i'm running it on windows server 2003
Post 24 Jun 2007, 12:43
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
Quote:

it shows for example: 320*240 instead of 768*1024


768*1024 Question

Sorry profkid13 i don't understand that you say.
anyway it shows y resolution and x resolution as have been
inserted from nVidia driver.
Note that i have considered only max 80 mode,if you have more mode then it's my bug... Laughing i'll fix it ,maybe to max 256 useless and stupid mode
Post 24 Jun 2007, 13:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page 1, 2  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2018, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.