flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

flat assembler > Linux > Linux pure assembly debugger - have some problems.

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
Recently I found an interesting project in sourceforge: AsmBug
It is claimed to be pure assembly debugger and for sure is something we all needs. It is written in assembly language (NASM) and is not console, but GUI application.
Unfortunately, I didn't manage to run it, because I am using andLinux, that actually uses remote X server, but AsmBug seems to connects only locally.

IMHO, we need to check this project closely and I will be very thankful, if someone gives solution for the above problem, because we can use this debugger with Fresh and andLinux to develop and run Linux applications from Windows.

Regards
Post 08 Nov 2010, 17:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7108
Location: Slovakia
JohnFound: Or, you could add remote-debugging-over-gdb support to Fresh Wink
Post 08 Nov 2010, 20:03
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
vid wrote:
JohnFound: Or, you could add remote-debugging-over-gdb support to Fresh Wink


I can use gdb directly, not remotely. But gdb is not assembly language debugger and it is slow and console and so on... Actually now I use "ddd" as a front end of gbd - but it is really slow. I mean really, really slow! Very Happy
Post 08 Nov 2010, 20:11
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2335
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
GDB supports "disasm" and "info all-reg" commands (or whatever). Not sure what you think it lacks. (If anything it's probably way too bloated, heh.) Note that I'm not defending it, it's quite complex, just saying ... it probably does whatever you need.
Post 08 Nov 2010, 20:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
rugxulo wrote:
(If anything it's probably way too bloated, heh.)


That is exactly why I don't like it. Smile And it is extremely slow on my computer. Especially when I use it with "ddd" as a front end.

Quote:
... it probably does whatever you need.


The point is not to "do whatever I need", but to do it in best possible manner.
Post 08 Nov 2010, 20:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7108
Location: Slovakia
JohnFound: Well, why not just write your own debugger? Since Fresh already has all the info about executable it needs, it shouldn't be that much of a problem to write your own debugger stub running on AndLinux, and communicating with Fresh (here's the part I meant by "remote"). From users point of view, one would be debugging directly in Fresh.
Post 09 Nov 2010, 09:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
Vid, this is too big task for the current state of development.
Actually, even Win32 debugger in Fresh is far from desired state. As a whole your idea is natural and probably Fresh will be developed in that direction, but for now it is better choice to use external debugger - Olly is best for Win32, but there is no comparable debugger for Linux.
Post 09 Nov 2010, 13:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7108
Location: Slovakia
What about Feryno's FDBG? I have never tried the linux version.
Post 09 Nov 2010, 14:12
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
TmX



Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 820
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
JohnFound wrote:
Olly is best for Win32, but there is no comparable debugger for Linux.


Have you tried Evan's Debugger?

I think that's the closest thing to Olly
Post 09 Nov 2010, 14:16
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
Quote:
Have you tried Evan's Debugger?


It looks very interesting. Thanks for the link. I should study it very carefully!
Post 09 Nov 2010, 14:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2335
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
None of these are GUI (*spits*), but ...

A quick search for Jeff's ASMIDE shows broken links, so I dunno. I thought he had one.

You could also use OpenWatcom's WD (yes, there's a Linux version, I even double-checked, 741305 bytes).

Somebody once wrote an MS-DOS debug clone for Linux, lemme find the link. Doh, broken link again. Oh well, Wayback has it at least.

EDIT: What about ALD?
Post 12 Nov 2010, 15:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
Results:
ALD - I didn't managed to install it. It gives me some weird messages.
EDB - it want's me to install 200Mbytes Qt in order to run? I barely got rid of .NET in windows and don't think I need it for Linux. Wink
I have to check WD and then will port AsmBug to FASM. Very Happy
Post 12 Nov 2010, 17:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
jeff



Joined: 07 Apr 2005
Posts: 28
I use AsmBug often, but the interface seemed to bother some users. When my web page went down I didn't bother to replace it. Why update something few people were interested in. Glad to hear someone is interested in porting it to FASM. I have not looked at the code for a few months, but may still remember how it works <grin>. jeff
Post 11 Dec 2010, 23:05
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
Hi Jeff. You are the author of AsmBug, right? Nice to see you here! Smile
Please, help me to run AsmBug in andLinux. It gives "AsmBug error X server connection failed", probably because the X server in andLinux is not local, but through virtual network connection. Display environment variable is set following way: "DISPLAY=192.168.11.1:0.0"
My experience in Linux is close to zero and if I begin to port AsmBug for FASM it can prolong for years.

Regards.
Post 12 Dec 2010, 08:56
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
jeff



Joined: 07 Apr 2005
Posts: 28
Hi John, I'm not experienced with network programming, but the error you mentioned may be easy to fix. Once that is fixed, there may be some other problems. Anyway, signing on to the x server uses a socket protocol to open the connection. It sounds like the problem is in the data block we send to the x server. The code is in library called asmlibx. The routine is x_connect.asm and can be found in the /server directory. I suspect you have a older version of all this. What version of asmlibx do you have? jeff
Post 12 Dec 2010, 17:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
jeff wrote:
What version of asmlibx do you have? jeff


Hm, I downloaded AsmBug v0.9.57 from sourceforge and there is a precompiled executable inside the package, that I am trying to run.
There is no AsmLibX or server/ directory in the package, so I don't know what version was used to compile the program.
On the other hand, I separately downloaded AsmLibX v0.9.46 and the procedure x_connect looks very strange to me. It reads the second byte of the "DISPLAY" environment variable and checks only this byte - it seems to me, the procedure does not expect DISPLAY to contain IP address.
Post 12 Dec 2010, 21:27
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
jeff



Joined: 07 Apr 2005
Posts: 28
John, It sounds like you are close to the problem. X-connect builds a socket data block with information about the display and it also adds a local key that is kept in a system file. I suspect the problem is with the display information. I only stored the display number and ignored other information about remote connections. If you take a working program and inspect the data block it sends to the x-server, this will tell you what is needed. There are several programs that will trace the x-server communication. I wrote one called Tracex. I've forgotten the others, but do remember that the standard Unix utility group has a good one. I'm impressed you have gotten this far, the details tend to scare most people. all the best, jeff
Post 12 Dec 2010, 23:48
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2019, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.