flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

flat assembler > IDE Development > The milestone version: Fresh 1.0.0E pre-alpha

Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Kevin_Zheng



Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Location: China
Hi,Johnfound:
unfortunately, The behaivour on win2003 is same as prior version, the result file is a 0 size com file. And I test win2k server, It compliered simple.asm to simple.exe, but the size of simple.exe is 512 bytes, It only builded the mz header. I used the fasm.exe for compling the simple.asm, the result file size is 3072 bytes.
Why doesn't support a menu item for directing invoked fasm.exe to complie asm file? I think that it should be a optional function for fresh. Do you think it?
Thank you helpping.
Post 21 Oct 2003, 10:47
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
scientica
Retired moderator


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 689
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Still get a null sized com file (in 2k).

Any ideas to where the problem is?

_________________
... a professor saying: "use this proprietary software to learn computer science" is the same as English professor handing you a copy of Shakespeare and saying: "use this book to learn Shakespeare without opening the book itself.
- Bradley Kuhn
Post 21 Oct 2003, 11:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
roticv



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 374
Location: Singapore
Weird, on my win2k, fresh is shows that my code is compiled but there is no exe produced. Also my attempts to compile the example code produced a 0byte size com file. Something must be wrong. Let me try debugging it.
Post 21 Oct 2003, 11:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3494
Location: Bulgaria
I think that the problem is in virtfiles.asm. LocalReAlloc some times returns NULL, but I don't know why.
Post 21 Oct 2003, 13:13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
roticv



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 374
Location: Singapore
hmm LocalReAlloc returns the correct value for me, but it is the LocalLock that fails with the error :

ERROR_DISCARDED
The segment is already discarded and cannot be locked.

Anyway I was pretty shocked when I heard that you used Local Functions. I think it would be much better if you had used Heap stuffs, as so claimed f0dder. Let me test some codes.
Post 21 Oct 2003, 13:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Blag



Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 90
Location: Perú
Doesn't work on my XP......just a 0 Kb .com
And were is the toolbar......i can't drag & drop controls into the form??????
What's up with that John?????? Crying or Very sad

_________________
Alvaro Tejada Galindo
SinglePath games design
http://www.iespana.es/singlepath
Post 21 Oct 2003, 17:16
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
scientica
Retired moderator


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 689
Location: Linköping, Sweden
roticv wrote:
hmm LocalReAlloc returns the correct value for me, but it is the LocalLock that fails with the error :

ERROR_DISCARDED
The segment is already discarded and cannot be locked.

Anyway I was pretty shocked when I heard that you used Local Functions. I think it would be much better if you had used Heap stuffs, as so claimed f0dder. Let me test some codes.

Try one of these flags:

Quote:
LMEM_NOCOMPACT
Does not compact or discard memory to satisfy the allocation request.
LMEM_NODISCARD
Does not discard memory to satisfy the allocation request.

_________________
... a professor saying: "use this proprietary software to learn computer science" is the same as English professor handing you a copy of Shakespeare and saying: "use this book to learn Shakespeare without opening the book itself.
- Bradley Kuhn
Post 21 Oct 2003, 17:30
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1095
Location: Poland
hmmm, John, it seems that you should look carefully at source editor code. Something is wrong with that. See:
I'm working on searching in many source files, and displaying results in a window. I need to 'ask' hEditorTab for the name of each tab, like:
Code:
        xor     esi,esi
        lea     edi,[.tci]
     .load_file:
        push    ecx
        invoke  SendMessage, [hEditorTab], TCM_GETITEM, esi, edi
        pop     ecx
        mov     eax,[.tci.hdr.pszText]    

(it's a part of a loop, that's why it looks like this)
after this eax contains garbage. When I do
mov eax,[.tci.hFileName]
It sometimes returns real file name, and sometimes - garbage...
Furthermore, I can't create new source now - it worked before, now it doesn't... even when I downloaded a new version. It seems that asmedit is created (it shows and disappears quickly), but no new tab is created (so I can't acces new source). I can't find the reason... And I wonder why it was OK before...
Post 21 Oct 2003, 21:01
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
roticv



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 374
Location: Singapore
Reading up on msdn, it was stated that Local and Global Functions are slower than other memory managment functions, and it was suggested that Heap* stuffs are used. Perhaps JohnFound should replace those code, or I must go changing the internals of the fresh. hehe.
Post 22 Oct 2003, 04:46
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3494
Location: Bulgaria
Hi all.
I come to the same opinion, that the "Local" functions are garbage. So I rewrite 'virtfiles.asm' to use heap functions instead. The file in the begining of the thread is updated. Please, check it now.

decard wrote:
hmmm, John, it seems that you should look carefully at source editor code. Something is wrong with that.
It sometimes returns real file name, and sometimes - garbage...


I will check this and I think to introduce new message: SEM_GETFILENAME to return handle of the filename by index.

Quote:
Furthermore, I can't create new source now - it worked before, now it doesn't... even when I downloaded a new version. It seems that asmedit is created (it shows and disappears quickly), but no new tab is created (so I can't acces new source). I can't find the reason... And I wonder why it was OK before...


I made, when you create/open new source file, and if the last one is empty and named "untitled.asm" and is only file in the editor, it is destroyed. FASMW works this way for example. Are you talking about this? Or there is some another bug?
Post 22 Oct 2003, 14:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1095
Location: Poland
Quote:
I made, when you create/open new source file, and if the last one is empty and named "untitled.asm" and is only file in the editor, it is destroyed. FASMW works this way for example.


Yeah, it wasn't a bug. I realized that before I was typing something in the editor, and then created new tab (so the first one wasn't destroyed). But FASMW destroys first editor only when you open some file, not when you create new one, so you can have eg. you can have 5 untitled empty files. But now it's not as important as another bugs...

Quote:
I will check this and I think to introduce new message: SEM_GETFILENAME to return handle of the filename by index.


In my case it won't help because I need more information about the tab (ie handle of AsmEdit), so I will still have to use TCM_GETITEM.

regards
Post 22 Oct 2003, 14:50
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3494
Location: Bulgaria
decard wrote:
But now it's not as important as another bugs...


BTW, did someone check last updated version on Win 2000/NT/XP etc.?
Post 22 Oct 2003, 17:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
roticv



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 374
Location: Singapore
Yippy, it is now able to compile the file. Aye, I get a 3kb file on my win2k system.
Post 22 Oct 2003, 17:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Kevin_Zheng



Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Location: China
Hi,Johnfound:
The newest version worked ok on the win2000/nt/win2003. But on NT platform, the system will show a error message when quited fresh.exe.
Thanks a lot.
Post 23 Oct 2003, 02:27
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3494
Location: Bulgaria
Thank you guys. That's good news.

Kevin_Zheng wrote:
But on NT platform, the system will show a error message when quited fresh.exe.


Probably there are some memory leaks. Today I will try to clean up the whole project. Please send me, what error message appear on quit.

Regards.
Post 23 Oct 2003, 07:55
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Betov



Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 98
john, all i saw in this treath recalls me the problem i had in the first years of SpAsm developement... that only ended the day i wrote a complete memory manager. You might take a look at the [Mem] Title in RosAsm Sources....

(VirtualAlloc is the evident way to go, for a Project like Fresh...).


Betov.
Post 23 Oct 2003, 10:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Kevin_Zheng



Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Location: China
Hi,Johnfound:
The attached photo is the error message on NT platform.
Thanks your reply.
[img]
fresh.jpg
[/img]


Description:
Filesize: 55.35 KB
Viewed: 2122 Time(s)

fresh.jpg


Post 23 Oct 2003, 11:15
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger Reply with quote
scientica
Retired moderator


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 689
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Compiles ok for me too now (plus that I see the splitter and the window beneath it now, the icons are ok).

_________________
... a professor saying: "use this proprietary software to learn computer science" is the same as English professor handing you a copy of Shakespeare and saying: "use this book to learn Shakespeare without opening the book itself.
- Bradley Kuhn
Post 23 Oct 2003, 14:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2019, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.