flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > AMD \ INTEL QUESTION - DEX4U WORKS BUT OTHERS WONT

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Redragon



Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 101
Location: U.S.
Redragon
I tested Menuet on 2 different computers, one has an intel celeron, and the other has an AMD ( i dont rember which type) -- Menuet works on the Intel processor computer, but dosent work on the AMD.. Ive tried other various things other users on the site have created, and they work fine on the Intel processor computer, but not on the AMD.. Can anyone tell me why?

EDIT: I just tried Dex4u and it worked on the AMD processor, it must have been something that dex used... can anyone tell me why? thanks!
Post 07 Jun 2005, 20:52
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
smiddy



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 559
smiddy
Hi Redragon,

Which version of Menuet? I haven't had any problems here running it on AMD Athlon 3000+, or AMD Athlon 1800+, though I haven't checked the most recent pre-release. What error are you receiving?
Post 07 Jun 2005, 22:48
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Redragon



Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 101
Location: U.S.
Redragon
i think its the most recent one, when it gets to the part where its supposed to load the blue screen with your options,it shows blue for a brief second, then it just restarts the computer
Post 08 Jun 2005, 00:48
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
smiddy



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 559
smiddy
It is late tonight for me, so I must head to bed. I'll check it later tomorrow and see if I get teh same thing. Are you loading from floppy, HD, or CD-ROM?
Post 08 Jun 2005, 01:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
Hi Redragon,
If it at the blue screen at the start of menuet, it sounds like its in real mode, it could be any number of things.
You could try this simple code:
Code:
;************************************; \\|//; (@ @); ASHLEY4. (now called Dex4u); Put test.bin on boot sector; with rawrite.; Assemble with fasm; c:\fasm test.asm test.bin;************************************org 0x7C00use16;****************************; Realmode startup code.;****************************start:        xor   ax,ax        mov   ds,ax        mov   es,ax        mov   ss,ax        mov   sp,0x7C00;*****************************; Setting up, to enter pmode.;*****************************        cli         lgdt  [gdtr]                mov   eax, cr0        or    al,0x1         mov   cr0,eax         jmp   0x10: protected;*****************************; Pmode. Wink;*****************************use32protected:        mov   ax,0x8        mov   ds,ax        mov   es,ax        mov   ss,ax        mov   esp,0x7C00;*****************************; Turn floppy off .;*****************************        mov   dx,3F2h        mov   al,0        out   dx,al        lea   esi,[msg0]                         mov   edi,0xB8000 + (80 * 3 + 4) * 2             mov   ecx,28        cld        rep   movsb        jmp   $;*************************************; GDT. ;*************************************gdt:        dw    0x0000, 0x0000, 0x0000, 0x0000sys_data:   dw    0xFFFF, 0x0000, 0x9200, 0x00CFsys_code:   dw    0xFFFF, 0x0000, 0x9800, 0x00CFgdt_end:gdtr:       dw gdt_end - gdt - 1                                                      dd gdt;*************************************; Data. ;*************************************msg0        db "  H E L L O   W O R L D !   " ;*************************************; Make program 510 byte's + 0xaa55;*************************************            times 510- ($-start)  db 0dw 0xaa55     


PS: you must have the same spacers in the string, for the code to print the string.

Assemble it as a bin file and put it on a floppy boot sector with something like rawrite.
Let me know if it runs this, on the AMD pc.
Post 08 Jun 2005, 02:17
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Redragon



Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 101
Location: U.S.
Redragon
I tried you code Dex, and it works.. shows a green box with the words Hello World! in it
Post 08 Jun 2005, 19:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
smiddy



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 559
smiddy
I tried the latest release here and had no real problems booting up. CPUID 94 didn't work but other than that it seemed ok to me. So it works on my AMD...
Post 08 Jun 2005, 19:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
I thought it may be a problem with the text mode or font on that particular machine, as i use a differant size text mode and re-program the fonts in "Dex4u", but the above code users the same as menuetos, so its not that.
It could be any number of things.
Post 08 Jun 2005, 20:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.