flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > DOS > Simple VGA mode clearscreen?...

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
niels38



Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Location: The Netherlands
niels38
hello...Wink

I want to clear the screen...ALL of IT!!! Very Happy

did put up the right videomode 320x200x16c

I guess it's something with the 'pointer to memory'
the es:di line...

anybody.... Embarassed

of course the code I'm showing here was not the first try... Shocked

16bit-20bit-32bit, @@@@@

...as if tanks should stay compatible with a sword...
although offtopic, I'm a sword-man myself, rather than a tank...

Code:
use16
org 256

        mov ax,013h
        int 10h


        mov ax,0A000h
        mov es,ax

        mov cx,200d


        mov di,0h
        mov ah,0Ch
        mov al,04h
Begin:  mov [es:di],al
        int 10h
        inc di

    dec cx
    jnz Begin


; dos exit
int 20h 
    



thanks in advance, I hope.... Confused

_________________
Are there really rules, in here?
Post 13 Oct 2004, 17:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
niels38



Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Location: The Netherlands
niels38
let me myself have the first reply to this...

the 16bit-20bit-32bit is about the bus (of course), not that the fact that I'm wishing that every boolean ain't smaller than 256 bit....

is the newbie-ism, dripping off my fingers....?
Post 13 Oct 2004, 17:09
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
first learn a bit more here.
http://www.ctyme.com/intr/rb-0104.htm
second: you don't need to clear screen after seting a video mode.
and the bios don´t must be used to write pixels because is too slow.
Search some docs about vga and vesa and read them.
Post 13 Oct 2004, 17:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
niels38



Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Location: The Netherlands
niels38
thankx, octavio

i sure do have some learning to do...

but the goal was not clear screen after setting videomode;
more like writing to videomemory with one color filling the screen; followed by making it to, filling it with alot of colors...Razz
then making a screenbuffer, etc,etc...


i saw a helping link ahere on the forum too...
http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=2187
Post 13 Oct 2004, 18:00
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
niels38



Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Location: The Netherlands
niels38
The thought of u'r message was clear...b.t.w.

I know GOD is saying 2 man all the time RTFM!!!!!

But His I read carefully...

Very Happy
Post 13 Oct 2004, 18:07
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
niels38



Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Location: The Netherlands
niels38
got it going allright...pjiffffff
Post 14 Oct 2004, 14:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Matrix



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Overflow
Matrix
Hy,
what video modes do you wanna use?

i give you a hint:

http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?p=14822#14822

MATRIX
Post 14 Oct 2004, 15:27
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
niels38



Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Location: The Netherlands
niels38
I use 320x200x256 indeed
I saw the msg u linking to, tnx.
Post 14 Oct 2004, 19:31
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7108
Location: Slovakia
vid
it is also about 4 (or more) times faster to do it in x (tweaked?) mode, with all planes enabled.
Post 17 Oct 2004, 19:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Matrix



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Overflow
Matrix
Hy VID,
you can be right, have you done such a thing so far?
is it working on all computers?
Post 28 Oct 2004, 09:47
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1095
Location: Poland
decard
Hi Matrix,
There are many of tweaked (ModeX) screen modes, some will work on specific cards only, but many of them will on all modern hardware. the topic is very interesting, if you want to learn more then just google for mode-x programming. Just to add, the biggest number of modes that work on most computers is handled by Allegro Game Library..
Post 28 Oct 2004, 13:48
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Matrix



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Overflow
Matrix
hy, and thnx
i 'm exactly on directly communicating with pci / isa cards (hardware)
and building a PC scope card, and many more.
Post 28 Oct 2004, 13:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2019, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.