flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > IDE Development > Suggestion adout FASMWIN32 GUI

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
veach1



Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 165
veach1
Is it possible in next version to insert in options something like "keep tabs\replace tabs with spaces".
Post 08 Sep 2004, 13:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tommy



Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 492
Location: Norway
Tommy
You mean optimal fill on saving... That's already supported... Wink
Post 08 Sep 2004, 14:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
veach1



Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 165
veach1
I meant another thing. For example, if I put one tab and then I wish to delete in, I should delete eight spaces instead of one tab.

Another example:
Code:
mov eax,10           ;no tab
        mov eax,10   ;tab
;       mov eax,10   ;tab with comment (line is not shifted by comment symbol)
;        mov eax,10  ;tab in FASMGUI with comment (actually 8 spaces with comment)
    


Line is shifted to the right. It is not a tab behaviour.

Wink
Post 08 Sep 2004, 14:58
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tommy



Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 492
Location: Norway
Tommy
Ok Smile Now, I see what you mean...
Post 08 Sep 2004, 15:06
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7493
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Internal structure of this editor doesn't allow such tabs to be implemented, as this is a "fixed-space" kind of editor (I don't know whether there is some official terms for such kind of editors, DN's one was of this kind, I'm not sure whether were there any more). To comment/uncomment lines without shifting you can use overwrite mode (combine with vertical blocks and you can do it on multiple lines).
Post 08 Sep 2004, 15:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
veach1



Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 165
veach1
Quote:
Internal structure of this editor doesn't allow such tabs to be implemented
Sad

As I understood, "fixed-space" editor is that, where I can put cursor into any position on the workspace. I know at least three tools of that type with true tabs: FAR, Turbo C++ v3.0 and ASMeditor from www.avtlab.ru

Quote:
you can use overwrite mode
you mean insert button?

I like ASMeditor for tabs but I like FASMGUI more for multiple workspaces in one instance.
Confused Confused Confused
Post 09 Sep 2004, 07:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7493
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
veach1 wrote:
As I understood, "fixed-space" editor is that, where I can put cursor into any position on the workspace.

First of all it means that it uses fixed length spacing and doesn't support the true tabs (which have flowing length) - every time you put/delete some character or spacing, everything gets shifted by the same amount. Perhaps such editors are most useful for ASCII drawing, but I got very used to this features also in case of programming, that's why I made my own editor this way.
Post 09 Sep 2004, 08:12
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
veach1



Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 165
veach1
What does smart tabulation for?
Post 09 Sep 2004, 09:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7493
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
This is another feature adopted from DN - when you press Tab it goes to the same column where the first non-blank character is found in the line above starting from the column where you were (if no such character is found, the standard tabulation size is used).
Post 09 Sep 2004, 09:29
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Matrix



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Overflow
Matrix
Privalov wrote:
This is another feature adopted from DN - when you press Tab it goes to the same column where the first non-blank character is found in the line above starting from the column where you were (if no such character is found, the standard tabulation size is used).


i see u like DN too Smile

that vertical selection is Cool

MATRIX
Post 09 Sep 2004, 13:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
omega_red



Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 19
Location: Poland
omega_red
For me personally, replacing tab chars with spaces is the worst thing that can be done ;)
I'm using Textpad as an IDE, it has syntax highlighting, code templates, supports regex, vertical selection, user-defined tools (fasm;) and more.

_________________
Vulnerant omnes, ultima necat
Post 09 Sep 2004, 14:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2019, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.