flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

flat assembler > IDE Development > Fresh IDE v3.x repository.

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
Recently I have started the work on the Fresh IDE v3.x series.

It is actually almost rewrite from scratch of the whole project, fully based on FreshLib GUI library and will be fully portable.

The initial target OSes are Windows and Linux, with very close milestone, KolibriOS.

The source repository is published on: https://fresh.flatassembler.net/fossil/repo/fresh3/
This repository contains only the IDE source code and symlink to the FreshLib code (which is hosted in the Fresh IDE 2.x repository, the branch NoCanvasGUI).

Notice, that the project is in very early stage of development and is actually does not have any working features.

Here is a screenshot of the main window running on Linux:

Image

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 17 May 2019, 18:05
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 16576
Location: Earth 2.0 beta
JohnFound wrote:
The source repository is published on: https://fresh.flatassembler.net/fossil/repo/fresh3/
The triple-line menu option does nothing. And most of the links are simply pointing to a honeypot page. Sad

When will you fix that?
Post 17 May 2019, 18:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
revolution wrote:
When will you fix that?

It is JS. I will not fix it.

Simply use:
Code:
fossil clone https://fresh.flatassembler.net/fossil/repo/fresh3/ ./fresh3.fossil
fossil open ./fresh3.fossil
    


The above commands does not use JS at all.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 17 May 2019, 19:29
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 16576
Location: Earth 2.0 beta
But all the links are broken. HTML can do links, there is no need for JS to do that. Fossil is absolutely terrible in its use there.

But fossil doesn't have firewall privilege to access the network in my systems so the clone command doesn't work from external sources. But nevermind. This isn't a big deal. As long as you are aware of the brokenness then I'll leave it to your choice of using JS. Smile
Post 17 May 2019, 19:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
revolution wrote:
But all the links are broken. HTML can do links, there is no need for JS to do that. Fossil is absolutely terrible in its use there.

But fossil doesn't have firewall privilege to access the network in my systems so the clone command doesn't work from external sources. But nevermind. This isn't a big deal. As long as you are aware of the brokenness then I'll leave it to your choice of using JS. Smile


Well, without working fossil you can't contribute to the project, so it is really not a big deal. Razz

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 17 May 2019, 20:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
DimonSoft



Joined: 03 Mar 2010
Posts: 518
Location: Belarus
revolution wrote:
JohnFound wrote:
The source repository is published on: https://fresh.flatassembler.net/fossil/repo/fresh3/
The triple-line menu option does nothing. And most of the links are simply pointing to a honeypot page. Sad

When will you fix that?

Suggest a valid UX solution for that first Smile
Post 19 May 2019, 09:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 16576
Location: Earth 2.0 beta
HTML/CSS supports menus natively. There is no need for JS to create menus. It doesn't require any JS. And even if it didn't support menus then a basic line or two of links works perfectly fine. There is no need to hide all the controls behind yet another click.

Older versions of fossil got that part correct. It seems the newer version has broken it into a dumbed down UI with less information to see without clicking everywhere. Sad
Post 19 May 2019, 10:09
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ProMiNick



Joined: 24 Mar 2012
Posts: 305
Location: Russian Federation, Sochi
As sympathizer to project I would wish to see more macros and less calls for oop realization. pseudo OOP where method call translated to call directly is better then another call that analize object structure and calls needed call. Sorry for taphtology.
Post 19 May 2019, 15:01
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
ProMiNick wrote:
As sympathizer to project I would wish to see more macros and less calls for oop realization. pseudo OOP where method call translated to call directly is better then another call that analize object structure and calls needed call. Sorry for taphtology.


Hm, I missed the point. At first, there is no "pseudo OOP". It is real OOP library. At second, I am trying to keep the macro use to the extent that will not harm the readability of the code and the assembly language style of programming.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 19 May 2019, 15:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
ProMiNick



Joined: 24 Mar 2012
Posts: 305
Location: Russian Federation, Sochi
I think(hope) with version 3 should come support of 64bits. OS GUI object are same - for every bitness. the problem for GUI realization used not bit independent macros, but bit dependent ones of real OOP library.

And within version 2 will be added kolibri support.

What cardinally new in 3.0?
Post 19 May 2019, 15:59
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
ProMiNick wrote:
I think(hope) with version 3 should come support of 64bits. OS GUI object are same - for every bitness. the problem for GUI realization used not bit independent macros, but bit dependent ones of real OOP library.

And within version 2 will be added kolibri support.

What cardinally new in 3.0?


What is the problem with the 64bit? Fresh IDE 2.x works on 64bit OSes and can compile and run 64bit programs. Fresh IDE 3.x will be able to do the same, of course.

The cardinal difference in 3.x series is that Fresh IDE will not use the OS provided GUI widgets at all. (the 2.x versions are based on Win32 API, so it needs WINE in order to work in Linux)

This way, the whole IDE will be easy portable across different OSes. Including KolibriOS or any hobby grade OS, providing even very limited set of features. The OS dependent layer of FreshLib is so small that the port to another OS can be made for several days.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 20 May 2019, 08:06
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2019, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.