flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.
 Home   FAQ   Search   Register 
 Profile   Log in to check your private messages   Log in 
flat assembler > Heap > Linux hardware advice: What to buy?

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
revolution
When all else fails, read the source

Linux hardware advice: What to buy?

I know a lot of people here have experience with Linux. I'm a complete noob, I've never yet been able to run it successfully. I've tried to install it a few times, and I've tried various live versions also. But never have I had everything working.

I've researched a few options for Linux dedicated setups from places like System76, Puri.sm and ZaReason etc., but I'm not impressed with any of them. From what I can gather they are really just normal systems with whatever drivers and things needed to get it running Linux and sold at a large mark-up.

My workplace has made it clear that any OS other than Windows is not going to happen until our customers require it. So anything I buy will have to be a personal purchase. Which means a tight budget and very little time to allow for configuration and twiddling (actually this is the scariest part for me, is the time required to get things working correctly, I just don't have endless hours available to try 523 different versions of Linux and/or to solve 972 error messages).

So does anyone have a recommendation for what system (or brand, or whatever) to buy that is the easiest for installing Linux? Everything must work, I don't want incompatibilities and things only half working.

I have a few non-negotiable criteria: removable battery with standard cell sizes (18650 cells are probably the best here), high resolution screen (2k or higher), lightweight (no more than 1.6kg), spinning HDD (no tiny SSDs). "sufficient" RAM (at least 4GB).