flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.
 Home   FAQ   Search   Register 
 Profile   Log in to check your private messages   Log in 
flat assembler > Examples and Tutorials > Intro to x86 Assembly with FASM

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
brakmic



Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Location: Germany
Intro to x86 Assembly with FASM
Hi everyone,

I'd like to share my tutorial on 32bit Assembly with FASM.

Part 1: http://blog.brakmic.com/intro-to-x86-assembly-with-fasm
Part 2: http://blog.brakmic.com/intro-to-x86-assembly-with-fasm-part-2/

PDF Versions:

Part 1: http://blog.brakmic.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Intro_to_x86_Assembly_with_FASM_Part_1.pdf
Part 2: http://blog.brakmic.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Intro_to_x86_Assembly_with_FASM_Part_2.pdf

I consider myself a beginner and I'm writing these tutorials to expand my knowledge about FASM/Assembly.

Your Comments/Criticism are very welcome.

Regards,

_________________
twitter: @brakmic


Last edited by brakmic on 19 Sep 2016, 10:00; edited 4 times in total
Post 28 Aug 2016, 22:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 15233
Location: 1I/ʻOumuamua
Do your images require JS or something? Because I see only blank spaces where images presumably should be.
Post 29 Aug 2016, 00:28
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Trinitek



Joined: 06 Nov 2011
Posts: 257
I feel like you should have mentioned the term "calling conventions" when you explained the stack setup and teardown procedures. Are you planning on expanding this tutorial into a series that makes Win32 calls and other goodies?
Post 29 Aug 2016, 01:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
brakmic



Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Location: Germany

revolution wrote:
Do your images require JS or something? Because I see only blank spaces where images presumably should be.



I'm using Wordpress as my blogging engine so you'd have to enable JS. However, my blog contains no advertisements or any malicious scripts. I do not use my blog for any commercial activities. All my articles are BSD-licensed and completely free.

_________________
twitter: @brakmic
Post 29 Aug 2016, 08:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
brakmic



Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Location: Germany

Trinitek wrote:
I feel like you should have mentioned the term "calling conventions" when you explained the stack setup and teardown procedures. Are you planning on expanding this tutorial into a series that makes Win32 calls and other goodies?



Yes, I'm planning to write several follow-up articles. I think its best to explain "calling conventions" within an article dedicated to functions/stack frames/call/ret/EIP.

_________________
twitter: @brakmic
Post 29 Aug 2016, 08:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
idle



Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 342
Location: ukraina
Well structured and read on one breath, nice!
Post 29 Aug 2016, 15:46
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
Picnic



Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 1209
Location: Greece
Nice article brakmic. I read it easily with the moderate English i know.
Post 03 Sep 2016, 08:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
brakmic



Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Location: Germany
Hi everyone,

Thanks for the kind words! Much appreciated.

Here's the second part:

http://blog.brakmic.com/intro-to-x86-assembly-with-fasm-part-2/

Best regards,
Post 18 Sep 2016, 18:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 15233
Location: 1I/ʻOumuamua

brakmic wrote:
http://blog.brakmic.com/intro-to-x86-assembly-with-fasm-part-2/

Still a lot of blank spaces where images are intended. Perhaps you can eliminate the JS there. HTML since the very beginning supports images without needing JS.
Post 19 Sep 2016, 02:19
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
zhak



Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 479
Location: Belarus
No blanks for me. Images are displayed fine in Chrome and IE 11.
Post 19 Sep 2016, 06:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 15233
Location: 1I/ʻOumuamua

zhak wrote:
No blanks for me. Images are displayed fine in Chrome and IE 11.

Do you have JS enabled?
Post 19 Sep 2016, 06:48
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
zhak



Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 479
Location: Belarus
Yes, everything's enabled. Images are JS, indeed. They kinda fade in smoothly when scrolling
Post 19 Sep 2016, 06:51
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 15233
Location: 1I/ʻOumuamua
So there is the problem: images require JS. This is not within the spirit of the WWW or HTML. Images are a basic element of the web and now many sites are breaking it just to have fancy fade-in effects, and other flashy whatnot, that is not really necessary, and can actually be annoying for many users.

Anyhow, it is just what I see. If the author is okay with it then that is fine.
Post 19 Sep 2016, 07:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
brakmic



Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Location: Germany
I've exported the articles to PDF. The links are in the documents.
I'll also update the original posting and put the PDF-Links there.

Part 1 http://blog.brakmic.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Intro_to_x86_Assembly_with_FASM_Part_1.pdf

Part 2 http://blog.brakmic.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Intro_to_x86_Assembly_with_FASM_Part_2.pdf

Kind regards,
Post 19 Sep 2016, 09:59
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 15233
Location: 1I/ʻOumuamua
brakmic: Can you place an <img> tag in your HTML source without all the extras? If not then Wordpress has a bad setup IMO (and creates yet another broken non-conforming website in the process). Sad
Post 19 Sep 2016, 10:00
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
brakmic



Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Location: Germany
I'm not writing HTML manually but via Wordpress Tools. Writing HTML structure is very error prone (and boring).

And the current IMG-Tags are pretty standard...there's nothing special in them, so I see no reason to remove, let's say, the "class" attribute from them.

But, there's now the PDF-Export of these articles so I hope this would be sufficient to readers who have problems with JavaScript (or have not activated it).

Regards,
Post 19 Sep 2016, 10:16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 15233
Location: 1I/ʻOumuamua
Thanks for the PDF pointer.

As for the IMG tags, the "src" attribute gives a blank image, this is what all browsers know about and can display without and special steps. It is the "data-src" attribute that the JS reads to determine the actual image. But "data-src" is not a standard anywhere, its contents is purely defined by whatever JS code has been included.

Anyhow, if this is a limitation of Wordpress then ... umm, okay. All I can think of is "What were they thinking?". Sad
Post 19 Sep 2016, 10:26
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
brakmic



Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Location: Germany
There's no "data-src" in my HTML code. But this is actually allowed as per HTML standard:

https://developer.mozilla.org/de/docs/Web/Guide/HTML/Using_data_attributes

Any data-* attribute is valid.

However, I see no "data-src" but only "src" attributes in my original HTML.

[UPDATE]
Wordpress (or some of its plugins) change the original "src" attributes into a pair of "src" & "data-src". This is, however, allowed by HTML5 standard which is JavaScript-inclusive.
[UPDATE]


Last edited by brakmic on 19 Sep 2016, 10:34; edited 1 time in total
Post 19 Sep 2016, 10:30
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 15233
Location: 1I/ʻOumuamua
Yeah, data-* is valid but the content are not defined. It requires JS to figure it out, and there are no standard defined values for the * portion.

But anyhow, from what you say above, it appears as though the webserver is rewriting the standard input into the non-standard output form that is delivered to the clients.
Post 19 Sep 2016, 10:34
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
brakmic



Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Posts: 10
Location: Germany
I updated my last post. Well, it's because of HTML5 standard that treats JavaScript as an integral part of the overall "web experience" Smile
Post 19 Sep 2016, 10:35
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page 1, 2  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group.

Main index   Download   Documentation   Examples   Message board
Copyright © 2004-2016, Tomasz Grysztar.