flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > IDE Development > FASMW with the new AsmEdit

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
mike.dld wrote:
Couldn't it be done by just using SetWindowLong / GetWindowLong ?


No, because I need different data for every line of the source. At least it will be very hard to create arrays with pointers and to keep them in consistent with the text.

Regards.
Post 26 Jul 2004, 22:56
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7483
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
JohnFound wrote:
2. AEM_GETWORDATCARET - now the maximal size of the word is not 256 characters, so we need AEM_GETWORDLENGTH of something.
Note, that for Fresh I needed a little bit different behaviour (...)

You can use ASM_GETPOS and AEM_GETLINE to look for word with any custom criterions you need.

Quote:
At least this will make possible to have one common color handling for all ASMEdIT windows in the program without need to set the color table for every window separately.

You anyway set only the pointer to the table, why would it be a problem?

Quote:
4. AEM_SETLINE - we have AEM_GETLINE, why not to have AEM_SETLINE also?

In plans.

Quote:
Handling of modify status.

You can handle the AEN_TEXTCHANGE notification to set such flag, no need to implement it internally.

Quote:
What about ES_READONLY handling?

Just make it work as WS_DISABLED?

Quote:
7. AEM_SETUSERDATA/AEM_GETUSERDATA (linenumber, 0) is my dream. Wink
8. AEM_GETCARETXY - returns pixel position of the caret relative to the client area of the asmedit - needed for opening code completition window on the position of the caret.

In plans (in fact very easy to add).
Post 26 Jul 2004, 22:59
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
mike.dld



Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 235
Location: Belarus, Minsk
mike.dld
Privalov wrote:
Just make it work as WS_DISABLED?

No, cursor is visible, scrollers are enabled but data isn't editable
Post 26 Jul 2004, 23:12
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
Privalov wrote:
You can use ASM_GETPOS and AEM_GETLINE to look for word with any custom criterions you need.
You can handle the AEN_TEXTCHANGE notification to set such flag, no need to implement it internally.


Tomasz, I can make almost everything using AEM_GETPOS, AEM_GETLINE, WM_GETTEXT, AEM_SETPOS, EM_REPLACESEL etc. including search/replace and whatevery I want.
But for example, you made AEM_FINDFIRST/AEM_FINDNEXT internally - Why?
Also, it is possible to subclass ASMEDIT for more control.
Sometimes it is more comfortable to have some things internally implemented.

Regards
Post 27 Jul 2004, 00:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
BiDark



Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 110
Location: .th
BiDark
What about 'select all' edit menu?
Post 27 Jul 2004, 01:58
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7483
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Quote:
But for example, you made AEM_FINDFIRST/AEM_FINDNEXT internally - Why?

This is more time critical, and if you wanted to do it externally, you would have to call AEM_GETLINE for every line. But for operations on single or small amount of lines AEM_GETLINE should be just enough.

Oh, and about AEM_GETCARETXY - since you've got the handle of AsmEdit window, you can just do GetCaretPos and ClienToScreen calls to get those coordinates, no need to make a whole message out of it.
Post 27 Jul 2004, 07:24
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tommy



Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 492
Location: Norway
Tommy
Superb, Privalov! Very Happy No detected bugs so far... Wink
Post 27 Jul 2004, 08:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7483
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
I've found some myself. Wink Attachment updated.
Post 27 Jul 2004, 09:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7483
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Another update - I've added Boyer-Moore text searching, but only forward one, backward searching is not working yet - the flag is ignored.
Post 27 Jul 2004, 19:11
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tommy



Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 492
Location: Norway
Tommy
Nice! Very Happy
Post 27 Jul 2004, 19:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
mike.dld



Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 235
Location: Belarus, Minsk
mike.dld
What about REPLACE function? It'd be faster if no scrolling will occur on each replace operation. Scroll to the last replaced word will be enough (of cource, if 'Prompt on replace' isn't specified).
Post 27 Jul 2004, 22:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
tsunghsien_lin



Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 4
Location: R.O.C
tsunghsien_lin
chinese language show is good,but cann't key chinese
Post 28 Jul 2004, 02:28
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1095
Location: Poland
decard
what about making AEM_FIND messages not select searching text, but just return its position in AEPOS structure (something like RichEdit)? In Fresh there's option to search whole source file, and display all results. It would make whole thing faster if find messages have done just the search without scrolling and selecting text.
Post 28 Jul 2004, 05:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7483
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Searching text routines rely on the caret position, so it has to be updated each time anyway. I cannot store caret pointer somewhere else just for the searching routine, because it might become outdated between two consecutive searches (as the user may edit some text before searching for next occurence). The only thing I can do for you is to separate text searching routine from the AEM_FIND message handlers, so you could implement some other searching messages. In fact this perfectly fits into my plans of splitting AsmEdit sources into interface and core, as it is with fasm - because I'm planning to port the core of editor to DOS and MenuetOS, too.

For the replace window position has to be updated each time, so then it will be restored correctly for each occurence when you do "Undo" operations (you can do one for the each replaced occurence). Anyway it has one advantage - you've got some kind of "progress bar" because of that scrolling. And making it not scroll wouldn't make all operation a whole lot faster - the contents of window is not redrawn as long as the control is busy.
Post 28 Jul 2004, 09:09
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7483
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
tsunghsien_lin: I'm sorry, AsmEdit is still only an ASCII/ANSI-based editor (for portability reasons), so it does not support multi-byte encoded characters. And if it displays them correctly, it's in fact a mistake.
Post 28 Jul 2004, 09:12
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
tsunghsien_lin



Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 4
Location: R.O.C
tsunghsien_lin
Privalov
Many thanks for your help.

RichEdit and AsmEdit and Wasm same no for chinese ,
Post 29 Jul 2004, 01:21
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
pelaillo
Missing in inaction


Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 875
Location: Colombia
pelaillo
tsunghsien_lin,
As far as I know, RaEdit works well for chinese but I have no means to verify that. However, it worth a look: http://radasm.visualassembler.com
Post 29 Jul 2004, 02:25
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7483
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Text search is finished, this time update contains also pre-release of new fasm core (with "command after macro end" feature) and new version of the Win32 includes (with new "struct" macro and support for nested invokes).
Post 29 Jul 2004, 15:26
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
mike.dld



Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 235
Location: Belarus, Minsk
mike.dld
Great, Privalov! Select all works. But it doesn't select the last char (see screenshot).


Description: Select All (Ctrl+A)
Filesize: 8.79 KB
Viewed: 3998 Time(s)

fasm.png


Post 29 Jul 2004, 21:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
It works just fine for me. Good work.

About AsmEdit behaviour:
1. Why not scrollbars to disapear why there is no need of them (instead of becoming disabled)
2. Do you plan to make word wrap feature?

Regards.
Post 29 Jul 2004, 22:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2019, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.