flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

flat assembler > Windows > FASMW on Vista 64 - Not Responding

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Suzume



Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Hello everyone,

I downloaded version 1.68 and 1.69 (both for windows) and started the IDE via FASMW.exe.
The IDE window pops up but the program doesn't respond to user input ... it sort of freezes (after any input attempt has been made the title bar shows a "Not responding" warning for a few seconds).
This is my first attempt at assembly programming - so I may not understand what the FASMW.exe is doing/should be doing.
Is it trying to compile itself? Is it impossible to run FASMW.exe on a Vista 64 machine?

Thanks for any advice/help.
Post 07 Oct 2009, 12:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 16699
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
I think Vista has protections against writing to the "program files" folder, perhaps something like that is causing a problem.

Can give a little more info about your system. RAM size?, AV running?, what folder you run it from?, your logon rights (are you admin or user?).
Post 07 Oct 2009, 12:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Suzume



Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 12
@revolution:
I've been running it from c:\program files (x86)\ and from c:\flatassembler\ - both to no avail.
And I am administrator on the system with these specs:

Operating System: Windows Vistaâ„¢ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2 (6002.lh_sp2rtm.090410-1830)
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9000 @ 2.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.0GHz
Memory: 4092MB RAM
Page File: 2247MB used, 6146MB available

THanks for the hint at AV ... but closing the AVGuard and shutting down all related processes via task manager didn't resolve the problem either.
Nor did running the FASMW.exe with explicit administrative rights (RM -> Run as administrator). And using WindowsXP SP2 compatibility mode didn't help either.
Post 07 Oct 2009, 12:32
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 16699
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
Have you tried the console version (fasm.exe in the same folder)? Just to check that you can at least get something running.
Post 07 Oct 2009, 12:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Suzume



Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Running fasm.exe (v1.69 ... I didn't bother experimenting with v1.68 any further) from the same directory c:\flatassembler\ in command line mode (cmd) seems to work - at least it is telling me how to use the exe and what parameters the program expects.

edit:
Just a note in case you wondered - I didn't want to modify the system variable to include the INCLUDE directory. FASMW.exe was able to create the ini file (which should be an indicator for having write rights).
But I'll give that a try now (sys var).
Post 07 Oct 2009, 12:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
farrier



Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 274
Location: North Central Mississippi
Suzume,

I have a very similar setup to yours, mine is a core 2 duo, and both fasmw and fasm work as expected. I just tried fasmw with my largest project--created with RADAsm--and the only thing I had to do was: go to Options/Compiler setup and increase the memory.

farrier

_________________
Some Assembly Required
It's a good day to code!
U.S.Constitution; Bill of Rights; Amendment 1:
... the right of the people peaceably to assemble, ...
The code is dark, and full of errors!
Post 07 Oct 2009, 17:43
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Suzume



Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 12
farrier,

sadly I cannot do anything within the GUI ...
I've increased memory to 262144 in fasmw.ini though - but nothing changed so far.
It looks like the exe loses its' focus whenever user input requests an action/raises an event... or as if the windows handle gets lost somehow. And whenever I click something within the IDE window a second tab appears right next to the original tab down in the task bar. It disappears when I ignore the application for a while.
And to make things even more clear (or unclear): this reaction does not follow in time to my click ... it is delayed by an unmeasured amount of seconds.
The system is an Acer Aspire 8930G notebook - maybe someone else had similar problems?
Post 07 Oct 2009, 18:56
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1046
Location: Michigan, USA
Suzume, have you tried turning off Vista's UAC?
Post 08 Oct 2009, 09:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Suzume



Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Yes, I tried it without UAC as well. We're running out of ideas, aren't we? Very Happy
And I don't think I got any exotic software on my machine that might stop fasmw.exe from doing its job ...
.NET framework, ms visual studio express 2008 (both for c++ and c#), tao framework, physx sdk, directx sdk ... nothing fancy.

Well, I guess I'll look for another assembler then.
Post 08 Oct 2009, 21:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
farrier



Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 274
Location: North Central Mississippi
Suzume,

I'd hate to see not use fasmw ! If you have a way to calculate the checksum of the file you downloaded, it might be interesting. For instance, if you have it, open the 7-zip file manager, right click on the fasm zip file and choose calculate checksum. do this and report the 2 crc values and the sha-256. Be sure to report the version of the fasm zip file you report.

I don't use the fasmw program to develop fasm projects. I use the most recent version of RadASM. A wonderful multifile editor with the ability to assemble your project and have RadASM take to any offending lines of code! The best of both worlds: the best assembler; the best IDE.

Since the command line version of the fasm works for you, that is what you would use with RasASM.

http://radasm.cherrytree.at
http://radasm.cherrytree.at/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/radasm.zip

farrier

_________________
Some Assembly Required
It's a good day to code!
U.S.Constitution; Bill of Rights; Amendment 1:
... the right of the people peaceably to assemble, ...
The code is dark, and full of errors!
Post 08 Oct 2009, 21:37
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ass0



Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 521
Location: ( . Y . )
Fasm.exe and notepad++, that's it. I don't know why the heck are you complaining.

I chose fasm 'cause it is tiny, fast and simple.
Post 09 Oct 2009, 02:10
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2145
Location: Estonia
@ass0, don't be an ass. He's just trying to get it working.

Actually we had a corporate program that refused to run on Vista, but ran even in 64-bit Server land and Windows 7. What amazed me is turning UAC off resolved the problem.

Don't you think you have some kind of malware because it seems so. What makes FASM lose its focus? That is weird at least!
Post 09 Oct 2009, 10:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
ass0



Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 521
Location: ( . Y . )
Wtf Madis731, he 'threatens' to use another assembler only because fasmw.exe didn't work to him, but it doesn't even is important 'cause fasm.exe is the assembler and one can use an universal text editor (Notepad++) as IDE.
Suzume wrote:
...Well, I guess I'll look for another assembler then...

I'd never complain about a free and open source program.

_________________
Image
Nombre: Aquiles Castro.
Location2: about:robots
Post 09 Oct 2009, 13:17
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
r22



Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 805
ass0 wrote:
Wtf Madis731, he 'threatens' to use another assembler only because fasmw.exe didn't work to him, but it doesn't even is important 'cause fasm.exe is the assembler and one can use an universal text editor (Notepad++) as IDE.
Suzume wrote:
...Well, I guess I'll look for another assembler then...

I'd never complain about a free and open source program.


1 - If it worked for him there would be no help required If this turns out to be a bug and he was the first to report it, then this is a good thread.
2 - "Well I guess I'll look for another ..." is a standard (ubiquitous) social technique that people use when they want help with a specific product. Taking offense is immature, futile and unhelpful.
Post 09 Oct 2009, 17:11
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Suzume



Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 12
@r22 - thanks for defending me, but I'll try to explain myself to ass0:
I did not threaten anyone by saying that I'll have a look for another tool.
Yes, flat assembler is free. No, I do not complain. I just wanted to know if there's a known issue with a solution to the above problem.
As I work at a game software QA company part time delivering bug reports is not alien to me. I do it frequently.
So please don't take my posts offensively - they are not meant to be read this way Smile
The IDE is of interest to me because of highlighting capabilities... and I like using packages that allow for a smooth workflow without the need to change between apps a lot.

@r22, Madis731, farrier
Thx for pointing out probably malware issues with my machine. I'm going to run tests tonight.
Thx for pointing out the checksum thingy ... I'll report back on that one.
Thx for pointing at RadASM.

Your helpful posts keep me interested in finding a possible reason and solution for/to the irritating behaviour of fasmw.exe.
Post 09 Oct 2009, 22:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
VIM has FASM syntax highlighting. Or if desperate for "official" FASM IDE, get DOSBox and use FASMD (but avoid Ctrl-F9). Laughing
Post 09 Oct 2009, 23:22
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
I don't know how to but AFAIK it is possible so I'll ask: someone knows how to generate a .dmp file with WinDbg? Perhaps Suzume could generate one while FASMW is frozen so we can now where the problem comes from.
Post 10 Oct 2009, 06:06
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
kohlrak



Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1421
Location: Uncle Sam's Pad
It would help if we knew for sure that it happened with users other than just him... It could also be a kernel patch that breaks some random function... You never know if he'd notice it or not, considering we don't know whether or not he uses other programs that use the same functions fasmw does. It could also be the lack of an update, or a number of things. Remember, MS is notorious for concentrating on 32bit, throwing out 16bit code entirely, and not caring what happens with their 64bit os (which is why many 64bit computers still ship with 32bit vista [not that it's MS' fault, but if it's a clue to anyone...]).
Post 10 Oct 2009, 06:22
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Suzume



Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Ok, some more info:
fasmw.exe (the 16908 version) is running smoothly on my WinXP SP3 machine.

The scans I did last night showed no infection of the Vista 64 SP2 machine - neither virus nor malware, trojan or whatever (I used Avira, F-Secure, Hijack and Spybot).

CRC (data only): B4F7BD04
Checksum (data and names): 0ADDDFE6
SHA-256: d9dab6734c775edfa7c70704ffaa79 (...) 6d1bce61030142
(didn't want to type the whole thing in, it's rather long with no option to copy paste)

I can let Vista create a dump file from within the task manager -> process tab. Maybe it can help:
http://rapidshare.com/files/291142154/FASMW_dump.7z.html
MD5: 88DC52D61B85866D750541F217E1EB07
Post 10 Oct 2009, 13:34
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
(Deleted previous message because I found how to get better stacks)

Here it is Suzume's stack:

Code:
0:000> !wow64exts.sw
Switched to 32bit mode
0:000:x86> kb
ChildEBP RetAddr  Args to Child              
000ba480 76e5d530 00150740 0000003d ffffffff user32!NtUserMessageCall+0x15
000ba4bc 76e5d568 00150740 0000003d ffffffff user32!SendMessageTimeoutWorker+0xa6
000ba4e4 74ba41c5 00150740 0000003d ffffffff user32!SendMessageTimeoutW+0x21
000ba510 74ba4100 00150740 fffffffc 74ba22a8 oleacc!ORIGINAL_AccessibleObjectFromWindow+0x71
000ba534 74bc8bb1 00150740 fffffffc 74ba22a8 oleacc!AccessibleObjectFromWindow+0x1a
000ba570 732f2884 00150740 fffffffc 00000000 oleacc!AccessibleObjectFromEvent+0x5c
000ba5e4 732feaa9 00150740 fffffffc 00000000 tiptsf!CARET::UpdateMSAAEditFieldState+0x37
000ba85c 732f1bad 00000000 00150740 00008002 tiptsf!CARET::_ProcessCaretEvents+0x82b
000ba88c 76e783ec 00010100 00008002 00150740 tiptsf!CARET::ProcessCaretEvents+0x8c
000ba8cc 772ee476 000ba8e4 00000000 000bac38 user32!__ClientCallWinEventProc+0x2e
000ba900 0040b2b3 00150740 00000000 0040b000 ntdll_772d0000!KiUserCallbackDispatcher+0x2e
WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
000baba4 76e58817 00150740 0000003d ffffffff FASMW+0xb2b3
000babd0 76e5898e 0040b000 00150740 0000003d user32!InternalCallWinProc+0x23
000bac48 76e59d14 00000000 0040b000 00150740 user32!UserCallWinProcCheckWow+0x109
000baca4 76e59d85 00b3b6c0 00000000 0000003d user32!DispatchClientMessage+0xe0
000bace0 772ee476 000bacf8 00000000 000bae6c user32!__fnDWORD+0x2b
000bad14 76e5d530 00150740 0000003d ffffffff ntdll_772d0000!KiUserCallbackDispatcher+0x2e
000bad50 76e5d568 00150740 0000003d ffffffff user32!SendMessageTimeoutWorker+0xa6
000bad78 74ba41c5 00150740 0000003d ffffffff user32!SendMessageTimeoutW+0x21
000bada4 74ba4100 00150740 fffffffc 74ba22a8 oleacc!ORIGINAL_AccessibleObjectFromWindow+0x71    


Try the attached FASMW. It is not a patch really, I've removed the call to ShowCaret to see if it stops blocking. If it continues please upload a new dump.

PS: Be sure to type something even though the caret is not present, you should be able to see what you type.


Description:
Download
Filename: FASMW.rar
Filesize: 57.17 KB
Downloaded: 190 Time(s)

Post 10 Oct 2009, 19:19
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page 1, 2  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2019, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.