flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > How did you hear about FASM?

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
rCX

rCX
After watching this fasmcon video, I was wondering when and why everyone started using fasm. Who were the early users?

I started coding in asm in 2002 using debug.com in DOS before I switched to NASM in mid-2004. During that time, the development of NASM stagnated. I stumbled upon this forum in July of 2007 and I never went back.

(Sorry if this is a repeat of an earlier thread...)
Post 02 May 2009, 04:16
YONG

YONG
In December, 2004, I did a google search using these words: What should a lonely loser, like me, do with his life? There was just one result returned: Be happy, enjoy yourself while you can, and visit flatassembler.net. Wink
Post 02 May 2009, 05:03
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
bitshifter

bitshifter
I was researching alternative operating system design.
At the time i was using nasm over the command line.
When i found fasmw with its ide i was instantly hooked.
I especially liked the idea of it not optimizing my horrible code.

Post 02 May 2009, 05:45
revolution
When all else fails, read the source

revolution
YONG wrote:
In December, 2004, I did a google search using these words: What should a lonely loser, like me, do with his life? There was just one result returned:
I get 228000 results. And with quotes I get zero. Question
Post 02 May 2009, 07:27
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sinsi

sinsi
Quote:
I was researching alternative operating system design
When i found fasmw with its ide i was instantly hooked.
Same here, especially the IDE.

I reckon I got the idea from hutch's masm32 site.
Post 02 May 2009, 07:46
vid
Verbosity in development

vid